Klaas Named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year

Nov. 20, 2001

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Washington midfielder C.J. Klaas was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and senior co-captains Bryn Ritchie and Ben Somoza were named to the all-conference first team for the second year in a row, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced. Stanford forward Roger Levesque was named Pac-10 Player of the Year and first-year Stanford head coach Bret Simon was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Klaas, a midfielder from Cherry Valley, Ill., helped lead Washington to a 13-5-0 regular season record (4-4-0 Pac-10) and a seventh straight NCAA Tournament berth. He was named Pac-10 Player of the Week Oct. 9, is second on the team and sixth in the Pac-10 in shots (38). He ranks fourth in the Conference in shots per game (2.71 avg.), and is second on the Husky squad in assists. Klaas also earned recognition on the All-Pac-10 Second Team.

Ritchie and Somoza, part of a seven-player senior class, were named to the prestigious All-Pac-10 First Team for the second year in a row. Ritchie, a second team all-America last year and one of the top defenders in the country, has started all but one game this season and led a stingy Husky defense to four shutouts.

Somoza, one of three Huskies to have scored five goals this season, is climbing Washington's career assist chart. He recently moved into a three-way tie at No. 6, with 23 career assists. He has started all 18 games for the Huskies this season and leads the team in points, with 17, on five goals and seven assists.

Seniors Zach Kingsley and Billy Sleeth were recognized on the second team while Greg Foisie, goalkeeper Chad Olsen, Jake Sagare and freshman Brett Wiesner earned honorable mention recognition.

Washington was selected to host first- and second-round games of the 2001 NCAA Men's College Cup this weekend. The Huskies, who received a bye to the second round, will host Portland and Gonzaga at 2 p.m. on Friday at Husky Soccer Field, and will meet the winner Sunday at 1 p.m.

Washington capped a 13-5-0 season with a 4-2 win over California on Sunday to clinch third place in the Pac-10 conference. This year marks the Huskies' seventh-consecutive trip to the NCAA Championships, including a string of six-straight years as a first-round host.



Name	Pos.	Yr.	SchoolTodd Dunivant*	D	Jr.	STANRyan Futagaki	MF	Jr.	UCLAAdolfo Gregorio	MF	So.	UCLARoger Levesque	F	Jr	STANLee Morrison*	D	Sr.	STANTim Pierce	F	Jr.	UCLABryn Ritchie*	D	Sr.	WASHChris Roner*	MF	Sr.	CALJosh Saunders	GK	Jr.	CALDerek Shanahan	MF	Sr.	STANBen Somoza*	MF	Sr.	WASH

SECOND TEAMNelson Akwari D So. UCLAAbe Geiger MF So. STANZach Kingsley MF Sr. WASHC.J. Klaas MF Fr. WASHJohanes Maliza MF Jr. STANAaron McHardy F Jr. OSUMichael Munoz MF Fr. CALAustin Ripmaster F Sr. CALBilly Sleeth* D Sr. WASHAlex Yi* D So. UCLAZach Wells GK So. UCLA

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes)Aaron Biddle (STAN, Sr., D), Peter Billmeyer (OSU, So., GK), PatrickFisher (CAL, Jr., MF), Greg Foise (WASH, Sr., F), Taylor Graham (STAN,Jr., D), Dru Hoshimiya (UCLA, So., MF), Brandon Kay (UCLA, Sr., MF), LeoKrupnik (CAL, Sr., D), Cliff McKinley (UCLA, Sr., F), Kurt Ness (OSU,So., D), Chad Olsen (WASH, Jr., GK), Troy Roberts (CAL, Fr., D), JakeSagare (WASH, Sr., MF), Matt Taylor (UCLA, So., F), Andrew Terris (STAN,Jr., GK), Scot Thompson (UCLA, Jr., D), Brett Wiesner (WASH, Fr., F).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder