Three Volleyball Players Earn Pac-10 Honorable Mention Honors

Nov. 20, 2001

SEATTLE - Three Washington volleyball players, Paige Benjamin (Redmond, Wash.), Allison Richardson (Hemet, Calif.) and Lisa Underhill (Vista, Calif.), have been named to the Pac-10 honorable mention squad, the conference office announced Tuesday. It is the third such honor for Underhill, while it is the first for both Benjamin and Richardson.

Benjamin, a 5-11 junior, was second on the team in kills this season, averaging 2.90 per game, while also hitting .293 with 0.91 blocks per game.

Richardson, meanwhile, posted a phenomenal senior season, leading the Huskies in kills, aces, digs and points, while ranking first on the team in double-doubles with 15. The 6-1 outside hitter also reached double-figures in kills in 23 of 26 matches (15 of 18 conference matches) and led UW in kills in 16 of 26 matches.

A 6-3 center blocker, Underhill finished her Husky career with a team-best .338 hitting percentage and 1.19 blocks per game.

Stanford, which has clinched at least a share of the Pac-10 title, swept all three major awards with All-American Logan Tom earning player-of-the-year honors, Ogonna Nnamani winning the Pac-10 freshman-of-the-year award and first-year head coach John Dunning earning the nod as conference coach of the year.

The Washington volleyball team concluded its 2001 campaign with an 11-16 overall record and a 4-14 mark in the Pac-10. The 11 wins are the most for the program since 1997.

Ashley Bowles, UCLA*** OH 6-0 Sr. Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Dana Burkholder, ARIZ*** S 5-8 Sr. Bakersfield, Calif.
LaToya Harris, WSU** OH 5-9 Jr. Portland, Ore.
Sara McGee, STAN MB 6-3 So. Davis, Calif.
Ogonna Nnamani, STAN OH 6-1 Fr. Normal, Ill.
Katie Olsovsky, USC MB 6-3 So. Torrance, Calif.
Jennifer Pahl, USC*** MB 6-1 Sr. Murrieta, Calif.
April Ross, USC** OH 6-1 So. Newport Beach, Calif.
Lisa Rutledge, ARIZ OH 6-2 Jr. Vista, Calif.
Erika Selsor, UCLA** S 5-6 Sr. Linden, Calif.
Jill Talbot, ARIZ OH 6-0 Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Logan Tom, STAN*** OH 6-1 Jr. Salt Lake City, Utah
** two-time selection *** three-time selection

Honorable Mention: Paige Benjamin, WASH, Keao Burdine, USC, Laura Collins, OSU, Tara Conrad, STAN, Lauren Fendrick, UCLA, Adrian Hankoff, WSU, Stephanie Martin, ORE, Allison Richardson, WASH, Stefani Saragosa, ARIZ, Gina Schmidt, OSU, Kali Surplus, WSU, Lisa Underhill, WASH.

PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Logan Tom, Stanford
PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Ogonna Nnamani, Stanford
PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: John Dunning, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder