Sun Devil Football Announces Annual Team Awards At 2001 Banquet Saturday Night

Nov. 25, 2001

TEMPE, Ariz. -- The Arizona State football team announced 12 of its annual team award winners Saturday tonight at the annual team awards banquet held at the Biltmore Hotel in Phoenix, Ariz. The Offensive and Defensive MVP's, in addition to the outstanding defensive and offensive lineman will be awarded following ASU's final game of the season next weekend at UCLA.

The annual Frank Kush Award, given each year to an ASU football booster for his outstanding support of the program, was awarded to Wally Kelly. The McBurney Scout Team Award (Offense) was awarded to freshman quarterback Chad Christensen (Scottsdale, Desert Mountain) and the Glen Hawkins Scout Team Award (Defense) was awarded to freshman safety Joey Smith (Phoenix, South Mountain).

Senior offensive tackle Levi Jones (Eloy, Ariz.) was awarded the Clyde B. Smith Award for academic achievement. Jones, who has made 33 consecutive starts on the offensive line for the Sun Devils. Senior tailback Tom Pace (Mesa, Mesa HS) was selected as the Special Teams Player of the Year. Pace led ASU with 415 yards on 15 kickoff returns (27.7 Avg.) Junior linebacker Josh Amobi (Phoenix, Shadow Mountain HS) was named the Special Teams Iron Man of the Year. Amobi is seventh on the team with 43 total tackles, including three TFL and one sack.

Freshman safety Jason Shivers (Phoenix, South Mountain HS) was named the Bill Kajikawa Sun Devil Award winner, as the team's outstanding freshman. Shivers, who was a high school All-American prior to enrolling at ASU, leads the team with 76 total tackles (41 solo).

Senior defensive tackle Tommie Townsend (Las Vegas, Nev.) was named the Gail Scott Most Improved Defensive Player of the Year. Townsend, who made only 27 total tackles and three TFL's in 17 games prior to 2001, has made 40 total tackles this year to rank ninth on the team, including a second-best 10 TFL.

Offensive Most Improved Player of the Year honors went to senior offensive lineman Marquise Muldrow (Glendale, Maryvale HS) and senior wide receiver Ryan Dennard (Albuquerque, N.M.) Dennard entered 2001 with only 12 receptions in 19 career games, but has made his mark in his Sun Devil finale, hauling in 18 catches and four touchdowns this year.

Senior wide receiver Donnie O'Neal (Olathe, Kan.) and senior linebacker Eric Fields (Las Vegas, Nev.) were named the co-recipients of the Sun Devil Iron Man Award giving to the player(s) who demonstrated hard work and leadership in the weight room. Junior free safety Al Williams (Irvine, Calif.) was awarded the Sun Devil Football Valor Award giving to a player who shows great courage or who is a great team player. Williams has started all 10 games this season, ranking third on the squad with 47 total tackles and has made two interceptions.

The Cecil Abono Co-Captain Awards were given to 2001 season-long team captains senior safety Willie Daniel (Phoenix, St. Mary's HS), senior center Scott Peters (Pleasanton, Calif.) and Williams.




Frank Kush Award

Booster for Outstanding Support

Wally Kelly

McBurney Scout Team Award

Offensive Scout Team

Chad Christensen

Glen Hawkins Scout Team Award

Defensive Scout Team

Joey Smith

Clyde B. Smith Award

Academic Achievement

Levi Jones

Babe Alex Demon Award

Special Teams Player of the Year

Tom Pace

Special Teams Iron Man

Ironman of the Year

Josh Amobi

Bill Kajikawa Sun Devil Award

Outstanding Freshman

Jason Shivers

Mike Bartholomaw Award

Most Improved Offensive Player

Marquise Muldrow

Ryan Dennard

Gall Scott Award

Most Improved Defensive Player

Tommie Townsend

Sun Devil Iron Man Award

Weight Room

Donnie O'Neal

Eric Fields

Sun Devil Valor Award

Courage or Great Team Player

Al Williams

Cecil Abono Co-Captain Awards

2001 Team Co-Captains

Willie Daniel

Scott Peters

Al Williams

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder