Briggs, Farmer Named To All-Pacific-10 Conference Football Team

Nov. 26, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Arizona underclassmen Lance Briggs and Clarence Farmer were named to the 2001 All-Pacific-10 Conference Football Team today.

Both earned first-team honors and were the only Wildcats named to the first or second units, although the Cats did have six players earn honorable mention in the annual balloting by league coaches.

Briggs, the Wildcats leading tackler with 93 and the team's leader with 10 tackles for loss, was one of five Pac-10 players to repeat as a first-team selection. Others with that status were tailback DeShaun Foster and cornerback Ricky Manning of UCLA, center Scott Peters of Arizona State and nose tackle Larry Tripplett of Washington.

Farmer became only the second sophomore in Arizona history to rush for more than 1,000 yards, finishing the year with 1,229 and 10 touchdowns, with a 5.9 yard per carry average. He could lead the league in yardage although Foster would be the Pac-10's rushing champion with a per-game average of 138.6 yards. Farmer finished the season with a 111.7 average.

Wildcats earning honorable mention all-league included junior wide receiver Bobby Wade, sophomore cornerback Michael Jolivette, senior center Steven Grace, junior offensive tackle Makoa Freitas, junior quarterback Jason Johnson and junior defensive tackle Young Thompson. Wade earned first-team return specialist honors and Jolivette was a second-team pick last year.

UA had two first-team selections for the third consecutive year. The 1995 Wildcat team had six first-team picks, the most in school history.

Coach of the Year was Mike Price of Washington State, while quarterback Joey Harrington of Oregon won offensive player of the year, linebacker Robert Thomas of UCLA was named defensive player of the year and receivers Teyo Johnson of Stanford and Reggie Williams of Washington earned co-freshmen of the year honors.

First-Team 2001 All-Pac-10


QB Joey Harrington, Sr., Oregon

RB Clarence Farmer, Soph, Arizona

RB DeShaun Foster, Sr., UCLA

WR Shaun McDonald, Soph, ASU

WR Keenan Howry, Jr., Oregon

TE Justin Peelle, Sr., Oregon

OL Eric Heitmann, Sr., Stanford

OL Levi Jones, Sr., ASU

OL Derrick Roche, Jr., Washington State

OL Kyle Benn, Sr., Washington


DE Terrell Suggs, Soph, ASU

DT Larry Tripplett, Sr., Washington

DT Eric Manning, Jr., Oregon State

DE Kenyon Coleman, Sr., UCLA

LB Robert Thomas, Sr., UCLA

LB Lance Briggs, Jr., Arizona

LB Coy Wire, Sr., Stanford

DB Troy Polamalu, Jr., USC

DB Tank Williams, Sr., Stanford

DB Ricky Manning, Jr., UCLA

DB Lamont Thompson, Sr., WSU


PK Drew Dunning, Soph, WSU

P Nate Fikse, Jr., UCLA

KOR Brian Allen, Sr., Stanford

PR Keenan Howry, Jr., Oregon

ST Kevin Arbet, Jr., USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder