Thompson, Roche, Dunning Named First Team All-Pac-10

Nov. 26, 2001

PULLMAN, Wash. --- Senior free safety Lamont Thompson, junior offensive guard Derrick Roche, and sophomore kicker Drew Dunning represented Washington State on the All-Pacific-10 First Team, voted on by the conference's coaches and released Monday.

The Cougars landed seven student-athletes on the Pac-10 First and Second Teams, and 12 more received honorable mention. WSU's 19 players receiving honors was the highest total in the conference.

Thompson led the Pac-10 with eight interceptions this season, including four against UCLA. The Richmond, Calif. native ends his career as the Pac-10's all-time leader in interceptions with 22.

Roche, a junior from Kent, Wash., helped an inexperienced batch of running backs ground out 1,515 yards this season and the Cougars rack up 435.6 total yards per game, the fourth-best mark in school history.

Dunning won a crowded kicking battle during fall camp and went on to convert 14 of 18 field goal attempts and 44 of 48 point-after attempts, becoming Washington State's first All-Pac-10 kicker since Jason Hanson from 1989 to 1991.

Junior quarterback Jason Gesser, who is on pace to challenge the career passing and total offense records at WSU, was named to the second Team, along with his favorite target, wide receiver Nakoa McElrath. Sophomore defensive tackle Rien Long and senior linebacker Raonall Smith were selected to the Second Team on the opposite side of the ball.

The Cougars led the Pac-10 with 12 players receiving Pac-10 Honorable Mention. Defensive ends D.D. Acholonu, Isaac Brown, and Tupo Tuupo offensive linemen Josh Parrish and Joey Hollenbeck, defensive backs Marcus Trufant and Billy Newman, running back Dave Minnich, punter Alan Cox, linebacker James Price and special teams standout Curtis Nettles all made the list.

WSU's three first team players are the most since 1996 when James Darling, Scott Sanderson, and Shawn Tims were selected to the team.

FIRST TEAM OFFENSEQB	Joey Harrington, Sr., OregonRB	DeShaun Foster, Sr., UCLARB	Clarence Farmer, So., ArizonaWR	Shaun McDonald, So., Arizona StateWR	Keenan Howry, Jr., OregonTE	Justin Peelle, Sr., OregonOL	Eric Heitmann, Sr., StanfordOL	Levi Jones, Sr., Arizona StateOL	Scott Peters, Sr., Arizona StateOL	Derrick Roche, Jr., Washington StateOL	Kyle Benn, Sr., Washington

FIRST TEAM DEFENSEDE	Terrell Suggs, So., Arizona StateDT	Larry Tripplett, Sr., WashingtonDT	Eric Manning, Jr., Oregon StateDE	Kenyon Coleman, Sr., UCLALB	Robert Thomas, Sr., UCLALB	Coy Wire, Sr., StanfordLB	Lance Briggs, Jr., ArizonaDB	Troy Polamalu, Jr., USCDB	Tank Williams, Sr., StanfordDB	Ricky Manning, Jr., UCLADB	Lamont Thompson, Sr., Washington State

FIRST TEAM SPECIALISTSPK	Drew Dunning, So., Washington StateP	Nate Fikse, Jr., UCLAKOR	Brian Allen, Sr., StanfordPR	Keenan Howry, Jr., OregonST	Kevin Arbet, Jr., USC

WSU SECOND TEAM OFFENSEQB	Jason Gesser, Jr.WR	Nakoa McElrath, Sr.

WSU SECOND TEAM DEFENSEDT	Rien Long, So.LB	Raonall Smith, Sr.

WSU HONORABLE MENTIONDE	D.D. Acholonu, So.DE	Isaac Brown, So.WR      Mike Bush, Jr.P	Alan Cox, Sr.OL	Joey Hollenbeck, Sr.RB	Dave Minnich, Sr.ST	Curtis Nettles, Jr.DB	Billy Newman, Sr.OL	Josh Parrish, So.LB	James Price, Sr.DB	Marcus Trufant, Jr.DE	Tupo Tuupo, Sr.
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder