Volleyball Headed To Pullman, Wash., For NCAA Tournament

Nov. 26, 2001

INDIANAPOLIS - The Oregon State volleyball team is among the 64 teams selected to participate in the 2001 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championships, which was announced Monday.

'I'm thrilled for the team. I'm especially excited for the three seniors. They've put a lot of blood, sweat and tears into this program,' said coach Nancy Somera.

OSU (17-11) will travel to Pullman, Wash., where the Beavers will face Big Sky champion Eastern Washington (20-5) at 6 p.m., on Friday, November 30. Host Washington State (17-11) and No. 11 Hawaii (26-5) will play at 8 p.m. on Friday. The winners of the two Friday matches will play at 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, December 1. All matches will be played at Bohler Gym.

Single-day tickets are $10 for reserved seats, $7 for general admission, $5 for students and senior citizens. A two-day ticket package is available for $16 (reserved), $12 (general admission), $6 (students and senior citizens) and $4 (youth). The WSU ticket office can be reached at 509-335-9626.

This will be OSU's second appearance in the NCAA Tournament, with the Beavers advancing to the tournament for the first time since 1983.

While the NCAA has previously tried to avoid early round conference match-ups, the committee recommended adjustments in seeding, site selection and pairings this year because of the September 11 tragedy. The recommendations were made in order to 'minimize air travel and mitigate risk, inconvenience and travel delays.'

Team pairings were determined, for the most part, by geographic proximity, with the exception that teams from the same the conference would not play each other in the first round of the tournament.

Somera sees that as a positive for the Beavers.

'It has its advantages. This is not a foreign gym to us. Our players have played several matches there, so we're going to be playing in a gym where we're comfortable,' Somera said.

A total of six teams from the Pacific-10 Conference were selected. Joining OSU and WSU are Stanford, USC, Arizona and UCLA. The Big Ten also sent six teams, and the Big 12 sent eight teams. Thirty-one schools received automatic bids, and 33 received at-large bids.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder