Two Men's Soccer Players Selected To All-Region Teams

Nov. 28, 2001


Oregon State men's soccer players Aaron McHardy and Ignacio Cid earned NSCAA All-Region recognition for their play during the 2001 season, it was announced Wednesday.

McHardy, a junior midfielder/forward, was selected for the Far West second-team by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The Vancouver, B.C., native tied for the Pacific-10 Conference regular-season lead in goals scored this fall with 10, while finishing second in points with 23. His three assists tied for the team lead, while he led in both points and goals. McHardy was a Second-Team All-Pac-10 selection as well.

A freshman from Placentia, Calif., Cid tied for the team lead in assists with three to go along with his two goals. The midfielder/forward's total of seven points was the second-highest total on the team.

This is the first all-region selection for either player.Among McHardy's highlights on the year was a three-goal, one-assist performance in a 5-0 rout of Western Washington when his seven points tied a Lorenz Field record for most points in a game.

Cid and McHardy combined to score the season's final goal in the last minute of the season against Stanford with 29 seconds left in the game when Cid assisted McHardy's 10th score.

NSCAA/Adidas All-Far-West teams


GK: Justin Neerhoff, San Diego

Backs: Lee Morrison, Stanford, Bryn Ritchie, Washington, Alex Yi, UCLA

Midfielders: Ryan Coiner, San Diego, Kelly Gray, Portland, Nate Jaqua, Portland

Forwards: Roger Levesque, Stanford, Jason Melendez, UNLV, Jon Spencer, UC-Irvine, ArturoTorres, Loyola Marymount


GK: Curtis Spiteri, Portland

Backs: Nelson Akwari, UCLA, Todd Dunivant, Stanford, Jeff Stewart, Santa Clara

Midfielders: Lars Lysand, San Jose State, Derek Shanahan, Stanford, Ben Somoza, Washington

Forwards: Sean Luigs, Sacramento State, Aaron McHardy, Oregon State, Mike Munoz, California, Enrique Tovar, San Diego State


GK: Rusty Johnson, Santa Clara

Backs: Ryan Cochrane, Santa Clara, Garret Turk, San Diego, Saul Wolf, UC-Irvine

Midfielders: Noah Delgado, Fresno State, Andres Murringui, Loyola Marymount, Chris Roner,California

Forwards: Ignacio Cid, Oregon State, Kelly Frederick, UNLV, Brandon Henley, Portland, Tim Pierce, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder