Cross Country's Sage, Bei And Lananna Honored By Pac-10

Dec. 3, 2001

Stanford, Calif. - Three members of the Stanford cross country program were awarded with major honors by the Pac-10 Conference on Monday. Sophomore Donald Sage (Elmhurst, IL/York Community HS) was named the conference's Male Athlete of the Year, while freshman Sara Bei (Santa Rosa, CA/Montgomery HS) earned Female Newcomer of the Year honors. Vin Lananna earned the conference's Men's Coach of the Year award for the fourth time, all in the last six years. Lananna led the Cardinal men to a second-place national finish after winning the Pac-10 and NCAA West Regional titles.

Sage, winner of the conference's Male Newcomer of the Year in 2000, came on strong at the end of the 2001 campaign. After finishing third at the Pac-10 Championships, Sage picked up his first collegiate victory two weeks later at the NCAA West Regional by beating both runners he had finished behind at the Pac-10's. Sage continued his late-season surge with the best performance by any Pac-10 athlete at the NCAA Championships, finishing seventh.

Bei stormed onto the collegiate running scene by beginning her career with four consecutive Top 10 performances, including a second-place finish at the Pac-10 Championships and a seventh-place showing at the NCAA West Regional to help the Cardinal win both events.

Other honors were won by Arizona's Tara Chaplin (Female Athlete of the Year), Arizona State's J.J. Duke (Male Newcomer of the Year and Arizona's Dave Murray (Women's Coach of the Year).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder