Arizona Cross Country Nets Two Pac-10 Awards

Dec. 4, 2001

Arizona senior Tara Chaplin was named the Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, and Wildcat head coach Dave Murray was named Pac-10 Women's Coach of the Year announced the Pac-10 office on Tuesday. The honors were decided by a vote of the conference's coaches.

Chaplin is the only the second Arizona women's cross country runner to win the award, with former Wildcat Amy Skieresz as a four-time winner from 1995-98. Chaplin was the third-place finisher at the Pac-10 Championships and took top honors at the NCAA West Regional. It was her first-place finish at the NCAA Championships that propelled the Arizona women to a fourth-place finish in the team standings. Along with this award, Chaplin was named NCAA West Region Athlete of the Year and is this year's Honda Sports Award winner for cross country.

This is the first time Murray has won the award on the women's side, although has been honored seven times on the men's side. Under Murray's guidance, the Arizona women equaled their best-ever performance with a fourth-place finish at the NCAA Championships this season. With Chaplin's individual title at the NCAA Championships, Murray has now coached four individual national champions - Aaron Ramirez (1986), Martin Keino (1994), Amy Skieresz (1996), and Chaplin (2001).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder