Players Honored At 83rd Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet

Dec. 4, 2001

Senior middle linebacker Robert Thomas and senior tailback DeShaun Foster were selected winners of UCLA's Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player Tuesday night at the 83rd Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet, held at the Century Plaza Hotel.

Thomas is one of three finalists for the Butkus Award, presented to the nation's top linebacker. He led the Bruins and the Pac-10 in tackles (111) and set a school record with 26 tackles for loss. He has been selected a first-team All-American by several organizations and publications and was voted the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year by the league's coaches.

Foster rushed for 1,109 yards in UCLA's first eight games, the 10th highest total in UCLA history, including a school-record 301 yards versus Washington. He concluded his career ranked second in school history with 44 touchdowns, third with 3,194 rushing yards and fifth with 266 points. He was selected first-team All-Pac-10 as both a junior and a senior.

The complete list of winners:

Charles Pike Memorial Award for Outstanding Scout Team Player:

Offense: tight end Keith Carter
Defense: safety Chad Rogers

Jack. R. Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship of a Senior Player:
Linebacker Kevin Stromsborg

N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership:

Offense: tight end Bryan Fletcher
Defense: free safety Marques Anderson

Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player:

Offense: wide receiver Ryan Smith
Defense: strong safety Jason Stephens

John Boncheff, Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year:
Cornerback Matt Ware

Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player:
Punter Nate Fikse

Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior:
Outside linebacker Ryan Nece

George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player against USC:
Wide receiver Craig Bragg

Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player against USC:
Defensive end Kenyon Coleman

Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence:
Center Troy Danoff

Jerry Long 'Heart' Award:
Fullback Ed Ieremia-Stansbury

2001 Team Captain Award -
USC Game: Center Troy Danoff, middle linebacker Robert Thomas, free safety Marques Anderson, tight end Bryan Fletcher

Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player:

Offense: tailback DeShaun Foster
Defense: middle linebacker Robert Thomas
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder