Coleman and Jones Named Morris Trophy Winners

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Dec. 10, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Defensive end Kenyon Coleman of UCLA and offensive tackle Levi Jones of Arizona State have been named winners of the 22nd annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Coleman, a 6-foot-6, 276-pound senior from Alta Loma, Calif., becomes the first UCLA defensive player in the 22-year history of the Morris Trophy to win the award. Coleman returned from a serious knee injury in 2000 to start all 11 games this year and earn first-team All-Pac-10 honors. He led UCLA and was among the Pac-10 leaders with nine quarterback sacks and 15 tackles for loss. Coleman was a key component of a UCLA defense that led the Pac-10 in total defense and fewest first downs allowed and ranked in the top three in scoring defense, rushing defense and passing defense.

Jones, a 6-foot-6, 316-pound senior from Eloy, Ariz., was selected first-team All-Pac-10 and second-team All-America this season after completing a stellar season at left tackle on the Arizona State offensive line. He has started 35 games for the Sun Devils in his career and this season earned the Clyde B. Smith Award for academic achievement. He has been invited to play in the East-West Shrine Game and the Hula Bowl. The Arizona State offense ranked third in the Pac-10 in scoring at 34.0 points per game. Jones becomes the third Arizona State offensive lineman to win the award, but the first since Randall McDaniel in 1987.

Jones and Coleman will be presented their awards at the prestigious PALO Club Million Dollar Awards Banquet at Santa Clara, Calif., on February 12, 2002.

Previous Morris Trophy Winners

Year	Offense	Defense	1980	Roy Foster, USC,	Vince Goldsmith, Oregon	1981	Roy Foster, USC,	Fletcher Jenkins, Washington	1982	Bruce Matthews, USC,	George Achica, USC	1983	Gary Zimmerman, Oregon,	Keith Millard, Washington State	1984	Dan Lynch, Washington State,	Ron Holmes, Washington	1985	Jeff Bregel, USC,	Erik Howard, Washington State	1986	Danny Villa, Arizona State,	Reggie Rogers, Washington	1987	Randall McDaniel, Arizona State,	Dana Wells, Arizona	1988	Joe Tofflemire, Arizona,	Dana Wells, Arizona	1989	Bern Brostek, Washington,	Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State	1990	Pat Harlow, USC,	Steve Emtman, Washington	1991	Lincoln Kennedy, Washington,	Steve Emtman, Washington	1992	Lincoln Kennedy, Washington,	Rob Waldrop, Arizona	1993	Todd Steussie, California,	D'Marco Farr, Washington	1994	Tony Boselli, USC,	Chad Eaton, Washington State	1995	Jonathan Ogden, UCLA,	Tedy Bruschi, Arizona	1996	Bob Sapp, Washington,	Darrell Russell, USC	1997	Olin Kreutz, Washington,	Jeremy Staat, Arizona State	1998	Yusuf Scott, Arizona,	Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State	1999	Travis Claridge, USC,	Willie Howard, Stanford	2000	Chad Ward, Washington,	Andre Carter, California	2001	Levi Jones, Arizona State,	Kenyon Coleman, UCLA
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder