Kenyon Coleman Wins Morris Trophy

Dec. 10, 2001

Walnut Creek, CA - Defensive end Kenyon Coleman of UCLA and offensive tackle Levi Jones of Arizona State have been named winners of the 22nd annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Coleman, a 6-foot-6, 276-pound senior from Alta Loma, Calif., becomes the first UCLA defensive player in the 22-year history of the Morris Trophy to win the award. Coleman returned from a serious knee injury in 2000 to start all 11 games this year and earn first-team All-Pac-10 honors. He led UCLA and was among the Pac-10 leaders with nine quarterback sacks and 15 tackles for loss. Coleman was a key component of a UCLA defense that led the Pac-10 in total defense and fewest first downs allowed and ranked in the top three in scoring defense, rushing defense and passing defense.

Jones and Coleman will be presented their awards at the prestigious PALO Club Million Dollar Awards Banquet at Santa Clara, Calif., on February 12, 2002.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder