Dana Burkholder, Jill Talbot Named AVCA First-Team All-America

Dec. 12, 2001

SAN DEIGO, Calif.- For the first time in school history the Arizona volleyball program has had two players named first-team AVCA All-America in one season. Senior classmates Dana Burkholder and Jill Talbot, who will play in Arizona's first ever Final Four match tomorrow evening, were both named to the 12 player team announced today by the American Volleyball Coaches Association. The honor is the second straight for Burkholder and the first for Talbot.

The All-America team is peppered with players that will appear this week in the national semifinals of the NCAA Championship Tournament, including Long Beach State's Tayyiba Haneef and three-time All-American Cheryl Weaver. Stanford's Logan Tom was the only other Pac-10 player to be named.

With consecutive first-team All-America honors to her credit, an Arizona volleyball first, Burkholder joins a long list of Arizona athletes to garner at least two such acknowledgments in a career, including Arizona Hall of Fame student-athletes Sean Elliott, Amy Chellevold and Anika Sorenstam. The Wildcats' floor leader, she has guided Arizona deeper into the postseason than any other team in school history. She is averaging 13.07 assists, 1.55 kills and 2.49 digs per game this season, while directing the Arizona offense to a .301 attack percentage.

Talbot, who will finish the season as the Pac-10 leader in hitting percentage, joins Burkholder on the first-team. A four-year starter for Arizona, her outstanding career has largely gone unnoticed on a national scale until this season. The owner of a career .333 hitting percentage, she has set career highs this year in kills (331), digs (337) and attack proficiency (.426). In last week's Elite Eight match against USC she became just the third player ever at Arizona to amass 1,000 digs and 1,000 kills in a career.

Arizona will face top-ranked and undefeated Long Beach State in the first of two national semifinal matches in San Diego State's Cox Arena tomorrow at 6 p.m. PST.

2001 AVCA All-America TeamAury Cruz 		Florida		OH	So.Dana Burkholder	        Arizona		S	Sr.Tayibba Haneef		Long Beach St.	OH	Sr.Amber Holmquist	        Nebraska	MB	Jr.Angela Knopf		Colorado State	MB	Sr.Sherisa Livingston	Wisconsin	MB	Sr.Nancy Metcalf		Nebraska	Opp	Sr.Jenna Moscovic		Texas A&M	S	Sr.Jill Talbot		Arizona		Opp	Sr.Logan Tom		Stanford	OH	Jr.Cheryl Weaver		Long Beach St.	MB	Sr.Kim Willoughby		Hawaii		OH	So.
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network