Women's Swimmer Misty Hyman Wins NCAA Today's Top VIII Award

Dec. 13, 2001

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Honors Committee has named Stanford women's swimmer Misty Hyman (1997-2001) as one of eight national recipients of the NCAA Today's Top VIII Awards. The NCAA Today's Top VIII Award winners are a group of distinguished student-athletes from the 2001 calendar year who will be recognized for athletics, academic achievement, character, and leadership at the 30th annual NCAA Honors Dinner on January 13, 2002, in Indianapolis.

In addition to their athletic accomplishments, the NCAA Today's Top VIII recipients have earned numerous academic honors, have volunteered countless hours to community projects and have served as role models for their academic institutions and to their peers.

'The NCAA Today's Top VIII Award that has been given to Misty Hyman is certainly deserved,' said Stanford head coach and three-time Olympic head coach Richard Quick. 'Misty is one of the most outstanding combinations of an athlete and a human being that I've ever been associated with in 35 years of coaching. Her extraordinary abilities as an athlete are matched by her personality, team attitude and a tremendous giving attitude to the community.'

Hyman, winner of the 200 meter butterfly at the 2000 Olympic Games and the Olympic record holder in the event, completed her collegiate eligibility at Stanford in March of 2001 as a 12-time NCAA Champion and 28-time All-American. Hyman won five individual NCAA crowns in her collegiate career and added seven relay titles. She was named the NCAA Swimmer of the Year in 1997-98 as she led the Cardinal to a national title. Hyman also won the Honda Broderick Award as the top female swimmer in the nation two times (1998, 2001), and is an 11-time Senior National champion.

Hyman holds the all-time Stanford record in the 100 butterfly (51.34) and 200 backstroke (1:53.12), and is a member of school-record relay teams in the 200 medley relay (1:37.77) and 400 medley relay (3:32.43). Both relay marks are also NCAA records.

This year's seven other selections for the NCAA Today's Top VIII awards are Kimberly Black (Georgia, women's swimming), Emily Bloss (Emporia State, women's basketball/women's track and field), Andre Davis (Virginia Tech, football/men's track and field), Leah Juno (Wisconsin - Stevens Point, women's track and field/women's cross country), Bryce Molder (Georgia Tech, men's golf), Nancy Metcalf (Nebraska, women's volleyball) and Ruth Riley (Notre Dame, women's basketball).

Recognition for this group at the NCAA Honors Dinner is in conjunction with the NCAA Convention in Indianapolis. CBS Sports broadcaster Clark Kellogg will serve as master of ceremonies for the event. Kellogg, a graduate of Ohio State University, was a standout basketball player at his alma mater and the 1982 No. 1 draft pick of the NBA's Indiana Pacers.

A full news release and further bio information on each of the eight recipients can be accessed at www.ncaa.org.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder