Price One Of Three Finalists For Eddie Robinson Coach Of The Year

Dec. 14, 2001

PULLMAN, Wash. --- Washington State head football coach Mike Price was named a finalist for the 2001 FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award Friday, along with Maryland's Ralph Friedgen and Illinois' Ron Turner.

Price, who won the same award in 1997 after guiding WSU to the Rose Bowl, could become the seventh coach to win the FWAA Coach of the Year twice.

Now in his 13th year at Washington State, Price is the dean of Pac-10 football coaches. Only five Division I-A coaches have been at their schools longer.

During the 2001 season, the Cougars tied for second-place in the Pac-10 and finished with a 9-2 overall record. Washington State was picked to finish near the bottom of the league after an eighth-place finish in 2000. He is the only Cougar coach in the 100-plus years of the program to coach WSU to four bowl games: the 1992 Copper Bowl, the 1994 Alamo Bowl, the 1998 Rose Bowl and now the 2001 Sun Bowl.

Friedgen led Maryland to its first Atlantic Coast Conference title in 16 years during the 2001 season. In his first year as a head coach, Friedgen guided his alma mater to a 10-1 record and gained a berth in the Orange Bowl against Florida. The Terrapins reached 10 victories for only the fifth time in school history.

Turner helped Illinois earn its first undisputed Big Ten title in 18 years, going 10-1 this season after taking over an 0-11 team just five years ago. The Illini will face LSU in the Sugar Bowl.

The winner will be announced on Jan. 10 in Scottsdale, Ariz., on Fox Sports Net at the America West Airlines Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Banquet. FWAA members will begin voting for the Coach of the Year Award in mid December. The balloting will conclude on Jan. 4, the day after the Rose Bowl game.

The FWAA Award is named after the legendary Robinson, who has won more games than any coach in college football history, all at Grambling State University. The FWAA has presented a Coach of the Year Award since 1957.

MULTIPLE FWAA COACH OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNERSWoody Hayes, Ohio State (1957, 1968, 1975)Darrell Royal, Texas (1961, 1963)John McKay, USC (1962, 1972)Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh (1973, 1976)Lou Holtz, Arkansas/Notre Dame(1977, 1988)Joe Paterno, Penn State (1978, 1982, 1986)

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder