Men's Tennis Selected for 2002 USTA/ITA National Team Indoors

Dec. 17, 2001

Skillman, N.J. - The 16-team field has been announced for the 2002 USTA/ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championships taking place Feb. 7-10 in Louisville, Ky.

The tournament, hosted by the University of Kentucky includes: Brown, California, Duke, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana State, host Kentucky, Mississippi, Notre Dame, Pepperdine, SMU, Southern California, Stanford, Tennessee, and UCLA (a 16th team will be added in January).

The USTA/ITA National Team Indoor Championships are the nation's premier national indoor tournaments. The men's championship has been held since 1973.

UCLA is the defending men's champion in this event, defeating Stanford, 4-2 in last year's final.

UCLA and the rest of the Pac-10 have dominated play at the men's tournament as four different schools (Stanford, UCLA, California and Southern California) have won the title every year since 1987. And Stanford and UCLA have won the last 12 titles. In fact, only three times has a school outside the state of California won this tournament since its inception in 1973 (all three were from the state of Texas). Also highlighting the draw will be NCAA champion Georgia and NCAA finalist Tennessee.

The men's tournament takes place at the Louisville Tennis Club

The preseason national team rankings will be released Jan. 8.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network