Price Named AFCA Region V Coach Of The Year

Dec. 18, 2001

PULLMAN, Wash. --- The American Football Coaches Association named Washington State's Mike Price Region V Coach of the Year Tuesday, joining Maryland's Ralph Friedgen, Florida's Steve Spurrier, Illinois' Ron Turner, and Nebraska's Frank Solich as the other Division I-A winners.

Price, who guided WSU to a 9-2 record this season, earned the award for the third time in his 21-year coaching career. He was named Division I-AA Region V Coach of the Year in 1987 at Weber State, and was the I-A regional winner in 1997 after leading the Cougars to the Rose Bowl.

The AFCA National Coach of the Year for Divison I-A will be announced Jan. 8, 2002 in San Antonio. The school represented by the winning coach will receive a $10,000 academic scholarship from the organization.

Price was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year in November and is a finalist for the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network