Hurst Wins Offensive MVP And Flaherty Award At UW Banquet

Dec. 19, 2001

SEATTLE - Husky senior captain Willie Hurst took top honors at the Washington football team's annual awards banquet when he was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award and the Offensive Most Valuable Player. During the 2001 season, Hurst led Washington with 607 rushing yards and seven touchdowns. He finished his career with 2,093 career rushing yards, the ninth-best career total in UW history. The Flaherty Award is Washington's oldest (since 1908), and most prestigious, individual award.

Junior inside linebacker Ben Mahdavi was selected the Defensive Most Vaulable Player. He led the Husky defense with 85 total tackles, five sacks and four fumble recoveries. Mahdavi was also the winner of the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

A trio of players shared the KOMO Radio Outstanding Offensive Player Award. That group included senior center Kyle Benn, junior quarterback Cody Pickett and freshman wide receiver Reggie Williams. Senior defensive tackle Larry Tripplett, senior cornerback Omare Lowe and junior safety Greg Carothers shared the KOMO Radio Outstanding Defensive Player Award. The KOMO Radio Outstanding Special Teams Player award was shared by sophomore Roc Alexander and freshmen Joseph Lobendahn and Zach Tuiasosopo.

Tripplett was also named as the winner of the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award and the John P. Angel Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Benn was named the the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive Lineman. Pickett shared the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award with junior linebacker Kai Ellis. Benn was also named the winner of the Academic Excellence Award

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to junior wide receiver Paul Arnold on offense and senior linebacker Sam Blanche on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards were defensive tackle Josh Miller and cornerback Sam Cunningham and to Williams and Khalif Barnes on offense.

The Inspirational Academic Award was presented to sophomore offensive tackle Nick Newton. Senior safety Wondame Davis was honored as the 101 Club Academic Award winner. Junior linebacker Anthony Kelley won the Tyee Sports Council's Community Service Award.

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Players of the Year went to freshmen offensive lineman Robin Meadow and defensive lineman Willie Kava. Freshmen defensive lineman Manase Hopoi and freshman linebacker Will Conwell were announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Players of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman Matt Griffith.

Coaches' Awards for outstanding contributions to the team were made to tight end Joe Collier, wide receiver Todd Elstrom, wide receiver Pat Reddick, safety Wondame Davis, linebacker Jamaun Willis and defensive end Marcus Roberson

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Ryan Shinkawa, a student assistant on the Husky equipment staff and Mike Litke, a student trainer.

2001 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Willie Hurst

Players' MVP Award
Willie Hurst (Offense)
Ben Mahdavi (Defense)

KOMO Radio Players of the Year
Kyle Benn, Cody Pickett and Reggie Williams (Offense)
Larry Tripplett, Omare Lowe, Greg Carothers (Defense)
Roc Alexander, Joseph Lobendahn and Zach Tuiasosopo (Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Paul Arnold (Offense)
Sam Blanche (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Kyle Benn (Offense)
Larry Tripplett (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Larry Tripplet

101 Club Academic Award
Wondame Davis

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Cody Pickett and Kai Ellis

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Ben Mahdavi

Tyee Sports Council Service Award
Anthony Kelley

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Robin Meadow and Willie Kava

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Manase Hopoi and Will Conwell

Brian Stapp Special Teams Squad MVP
Matt Griffith

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Reggie Williams and Khalif Barnes (Offense)
Josh Miller and Sam Cunningham (Defense)

Kurt Gegner Memorial
Ryan Shinkasa (equipment staff) & Mike Litke (training staff)

Inspirational Academic Award
Nick Newton

Academic Excellence Award
Kyle Benn

Coaches' Award
Joe Collier, Todd Elstrom, Pat Reddick, Wondame Davis, Jamaun Willis, Marcus Roberson

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder