Larkin Advances to Semifinals at Midlands Wrestling Championships

Dec. 29, 2001

EVANSTON, Ill. - With three straight wins, Arizona State junior Eric Larkin has advanced to tomorrow's semifinals, leading the eighth-ranked Sun Devil wrestling squad after the first day of the Midlands Wrestling Championships hosted by Northwestern University at the Welsh-Ryan Arena, Saturday.

Larkin, the tournament's top seed at 141 pounds, was one of five Sun Devils to advance to the quarterfinal round today, but the lone wrestler to advance to the semifinals tomorrow. Larkin pinned his first two opponents, Nick Cirrincione of Eastern Illinois in 1:20 and Penn's Brett Vanderveer in 5:15, before an 8-6 quarterfinal decision over Indiana's Coyte Cooper. Larkin will face fifth-seeded Aaron Holker of Iowa State in the semifinals tomorrow at noon Central time.

Redshirt freshman Mike Simpson and senior David Douglas both advanced to the quarterfinals, only to suffer their first losses of the tournament. Simpson was edged 3-2 by top-seed LeRoy Vega of Minnesota at 125 pounds, while Douglas fell to Iowa's Cliff Moore, 5-2, at 133 pounds.

Senior Erik Gladish met the same fate as Simpson and Douglas, advancing as far as the quarterfinal round at 197 pounds but losing a 13-6 decision to Minnesota's Owen Elzen. Junior Kellan Fluckiger was unable to get past Illinois's John Lockhart, the top seed in the heavyweight quarterfinals, losing a close 5-3 decision.

In the team race, Iowa State holds onto a four and a half point lead over Iowa, 85 to 81.5 points. Ohio State and Minnesota are tied for third with 63.5 points. ASU is not among the top-10 teams when the tournament continues tomorrow.

The Midlands Championships concludes tomorrow with semifinal and final action at the Welsh-Ryan Arena in Evanston, Ill. Up next for ASU is a home dual match with Pac-10 rival Boise State Saturday, Jan. 5, at 7 p.m. at Wells Fargo Arena.

Midlands Championships -- ASU Results
Welsh-Ryan Arena, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
Saturday, December 29, 2001

125 Pounds
1st Round: Mike Simpson (ASU) dec. Brandon Newill (Pittsburgh-Johnston), 9-4
2nd Round: Mike Simpson (ASU) dec. Twan Pham (Illinois), 5-1
Quarterfinals: LeRoy Vega (Minnesota) dec. Mike Simpson (ASU), 3-2

133 Pounds
1st Round: Marc Juergens (Iowa) dec. Evan Larkin (ASU), 8-5
1st Round: David Douglas (ASU) major dec. John Paul Igoe (North Carolina), 11-2
2nd Round: David Douglas (ASU) dec. Jeff Eveleth (Penn), 2-1
2nd Cons.: Kevin Rucci (Penn) major dec. Evan Larkin (ASU), 12-4
Quarterfinals: Cliff Moore (Iowa) dec. David Douglas (ASU), 5-2

141 Pounds
1st Round: Eric Larkin (ASU) fall Nick Cirrincione (Eastern Illinois), 1:20
2nd Round: Eric Larkin (ASU) fall Brett Vanderveer (Penn), 5:15
Quarterfinals: Eric Larkin (ASU) dec. Coyte Cooper (Indiana), 8-6

149 Pounds
1st Round: Jared Lawrence (Minnesota) fall Danny Alcocer (ASU), 5:01
2nd Cons.: Tom Waldron (Cornell) dec. Danny Alcocer (ASU), 6-3

157 Pounds

165 Pounds

174 Pounds

184 Pounds
1st Round: Drew Hageman (Minnesota) dec. Will Carr (ASU), 3-2
2nd Round Cons.: Tyrone Byrd (Illinois) dec. Will Carr (ASU), 4-0

197 Pounds
1st Round: Erik Gladish (ASU) dec. Brendan Curran (Northwestern), 7-0
2nd Round: Erik Gladish (ASU) dec. Jason Vincens (Illinois), 7-2
Quarterfinals: Owen Elzen (Minnesota) dec. Erik Gladish (ASU), 13-6

1st Round: Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) dec. Mark Knauer (Iowa State), 5-1 ot
2nd Round: Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) dec. Dawid Rechal (Harvard), 9-5
Quarterfinals: John Lockhart (Illinois) dec. Kellan Fluckiger (ASU), 5-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder