10th-Ranked Wrestling Defeats Embry-Riddle 31-7

Jan. 12, 2002

PEORIA, Ariz. - Arizona State's 10th-ranked wrestling squad improved to 4-0 in dual action, winning eight matches en route to a 31-7 defeat of Embry-Riddle at Peoria High School in Peoria, Ariz., Saturday afternoon.

The Sun Devils, which remain 3-0 against Pac-10 opponents, sent Embry-Riddle below the .500 mark as the Eagles fell to 5-6 on the season.

Four ASU wrestlers won their matches via bonus points, as senior Erik Gladish won by technical fall at 197 pounds and sophomore Nick Frost and redshirt-freshman Mike Simpson each won by major decision at 165 and 125, respectively. True freshman Chris Petrie picked up his first collegiate victory in his ASU debut, earning a decision at 174 pounds.

Embry-Riddle's only wins came at 157 and 184 pounds, as Pat Cadwallader won by a 4-2 decision over ASU redshirt-freshman Danny Alcocer at 157, and former Sun Devil Will McCleve defeated ASU's Will Carr with a 14-5 major decision at 184.

ASU got on the board first with a 9-4 decision by redshirt-freshman Evan Larkin over Dustin Sanders, followed by an Embry-Riddle forfeit at 141 pounds, robbing junior Eric Larkin of a chance to compete but granting him his 21st win of the season.

ASU senior Quinn Foster then gave the Sun Devils a 12-0 team lead with an 8-5 decision over Joe Calavitta at 149 pounds. The Eagles put their first points on the board with Cadwallader's decision at 157 and ASU responded with Frost's 13-5 major decision over David Rivera at 165, and Petrie's 10-5 decision over Nathaniel Auguston at 174.

The Sun Devils' advantage was then cut to 19-7 with McCleve's 14-5 major decision over Carr, but ASU answered winning the last three matches to run away with the 31-7 win. Gladish earned a 17-1 technical fall over Ric Carreon at 197, followed by junior Kellan Fluckiger's 8-1 decision over Ken Kobes at heavyweight and Simpson's 12-1 major decision over Marcel Suehiro at 125.

Next up for ASU will be the 2002 Cliff Keen/NWCA National Duals hosted by The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, Saturday, Jan. 19, through Sunday, Jan. 20. ASU will be one of 16 Div. I teams competing, all of which are ranked in the latest National Wrestling Coaches Association Top-25 poll. The National Dual field also includes No. 1 Minnesota, No. 2 Oklahoma State, No. 3 Oklahoma, No. 4 Michigan, No. 5 Iowa, No. 6 Iowa State and No. 7 Ohio State.

#10 Arizona State 31, Embry-Riddle 7
133: Evan Larkin (ASU) dec. Dustin Sanders (ER), 9-4
141: #1 Eric Larkin (ASU) injury forfeit
149: Quinn Foster (ASU) dec. Joe Calavitta (ER), 8-5
157: Pat Cadwallader (ER) dec. Danny Alcocer (ASU), 4-2
165: #17 Nick Frost (ASU) major dec. David Rivera (ER), 13-5
174: Chris Petrie (ASU) dec. Nathaniel Auguston (ER), 10-5
184: Will McCleve (ER) major dec. Will Carr (ASU), 14-5
197: #12 Erik Gladish (ASU) technical fall Ric Carreon (ER), 17-1
HWT: #12 Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) dec. Ken Kobes (ER), 8-1
125: #8 Mike Simpson (ASU) major dec. Marcel Suehiro (ER), 12-1

Attendance: 337

Team rankings according to NWCA Poll, individual rankings according to Amateur Wrestling News

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder