Bruins, Wildcats Picked to Win Pac-10 in Preseason Poll

Jan. 15, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, CA - For the second consecutive season, UCLA and Arizona have been picked by the Conference coaches to win the Pac-10 softball title, it was announced today.

Last year, the Pac-10 Champion Wildcats edged out the Bruins (No. 2) 1-0 in the NCAA title game to win their sixth national championship in school history. The game marked the eighth time two Pac-10 teams have faced each other for the title. Each team received 46 total votes, including four first-place votes.

Stanford, which made its first Women's College World Series appearance last year, finished third with 37 points while Washington took in 28 tallies. California and Oregon State tied for fifth with 21 points each.

Rounding out the poll, Arizona State was chosen seventh with a mark of 18 points while Oregon finished eighth with seven points.

In 2001, Pac-10 softball placed seven of its eight members in the NCAA Tournament field with four of those squads advancing to the WCWS. Additionally, seven teams finished in the top 20 in the final USA Today/NFCA Poll (five in the top nine).


Team			Pts.1.	 UCLA (4)		46	Arizona (4)	463.	 Stanford		374.	Washington	285.	California		21	Oregon State	217.	Arizona State	188.	Oregon		7
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder