Larkin Selected to Compete at the NWCA All-Star Classic

Jan. 17, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State junior wrestler Eric Larkin has been selected to compete in the 2002 NWCA All-Star Classic to be held Monday, January 28, at 7 p.m. at the Hofstra Arena in Hempstead, Long Island, New York.

The 36th annual All-Star Classic showcases the nation's top collegiate wrestlers and is often considered a preview of the upcoming NCAA championships. Top-ranked Larkin is scheduled to meet third-ranked Sean Gray of Virginia Tech in the 141-pound match.

Larkin, competing in the All-Star Classic for the first time, is the 26th Sun Devil to participate in the event dating back to 1967. Recent Sun Devil participants include Steve Blackford (2000) and current ASU assistant coach Aaron Simpson (1997). Head coach Thom Ortiz also competed in the 1990 All-Star Classic.

Larkin has been ranked No. 1 in the nation at 141 pounds all season with a 21-1 overall record, winning 12 of his 21 matches by pin. This season he has won tournament titles at the Missouri Open, the Reno Tournament of Champions and the Midlands Championships. His only loss came to Harvard's Jesse Jantzen (8-4) at the Las Vegas Invitational.

The Tucson, Ariz., native is a two-time All-American and two-time Pac-10 Champion. As a freshman he placed fourth at the NCAA Championships at 133 pounds in 1999, and as a sophomore last year, placed third at 141 pounds. Larkin redshirted the 1999-2000 season to train for the Olympic Trials in which he placed third.

Larkin is a 1998 graduate of Sunnyside High School in Tucson where he was a two-time state champion and compiled a 130-2 overall record.

ASU NWCA All-Star Classic Participants (26)
2002 Eric Larkin [141] vs. Sean Gray (Virginia Tech)
2000 Steve Blackford [165] dec. Kirk White (Boise State), 13-1
1997 Aaron Simpson [177] lost to Erich Harvey (Michigan State), 3-3 (OT tie breaker rideout)
1995 Markus Mollica [167] dec. Mark Branch (Oklahoma State), 3-2
1994 Markus Mollica [167] lost to Shaon Fry (Missouri), 5-2
1993 Shawn Charles [126] dec. Tony Purler (Nebraska), 8-6
1992 Shawn Charles [126] lost to Terry Brands (Iowa), 21-13
1991 Ray Miller [158] lost to Steve Hamilton (Iowa State), 8-6
Rex Holman [190] dec. Mike Funk (Northwestern), 5-2
1990 Zeke Jones [118] lost to Doug Wyland (North Carolina), 4-3
Andy McNaughton [134] lost by inj. def. Mike Lingenfelter (Lock Haven), 4:47
Thom Ortiz [142] lost to Joe Reynolds (Oklahoma), 3-2
Dan St. John [167] dec. Baron Blakeley (Oklahoma), 9-2
1989 Jim Gressley [177] injured, did not compete
1988 Mike Davies [190] lost to Eric Voelker (Iowa State), 7-4
1981 Gary Bohay [126] lost to Ricky Dellagatina (Kentucky), 17-9
Dan Severn [HWT] drew with Bruce Baumgartner (Indiana State), 4-4
1980 Dan Severn [190] injured, did not compete
1979 Dave Severn [177] lost to Steve Frazier (Michigan), 7-3
1978 Dan Severn [190] lost to Jim Marzone (Northwestern), 10-6
Don Shuler [177] dec. Jim Blackman (Franklin & Marshall), 7-4
1977 Dave Severn [177] injured, did not compete
Roye Oliver [150] dec. Mark Churella (Michigan), 5-4
1968 Curley Culp [HWT] dec. Dave Porter (Michigan), 5-2
1967 Curley Culp [HWT] pinned Dave Porter (Michigan), 3:38
Glenn McMinn, Sr. [118] dec. Jim Anderson (Minnesota), 3-2

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder