Mickelson Named to Collegiate Honor Roll

Jan. 23, 2002

Seattle - Washington rower Anna Mickelson has been named to the USRowing Collegiate Honor Roll First Team for her efforts in the classroom and on the water during the 2001 season. She is one of nine women and eight men to receive the prestigious honor from the sport's national governing body, along with the 25 honorees represent who 13 states and 18 colleges and universities.

The USRowing Collegiate Honor Roll recognizes student-athletes who have excelled in both academics and rowing, as well as participated in extra curricular activities. Applicants must a minimum 3.2 cumulative grade point average.

Mickelson, a senior this year, currently carries a 3.63 major in communications. She also earned Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) First Team Academic All-America honors following the 2001 season, in addition to the CRCA second team honors she received as a sophomore.

The recent academic honor highlights a year that saw Mickelson, from Bellevue, Wash., excel both on the water and off as a junior in 2001. She was a part of the Washington women's rowing team that won its third NCAA Championship last June. Rowing the six seat in the varsity eight, Mickelson helped power her crew to a come-from-behind victory in the final race of the national championships to capture a gold medal and seal the team title for the Huskies.

En route the to the NCAA Championships, the Huskies captured a 10th-consecutive Pac-10 Conference title and Mickelson was named to the All-Pac-10 Conference First Team and the All-Pac-10 Academic First Team.

Following the collegiate season, Mickelson was selected to the United States National Team and competed in the women's eight-oared crew that finished fourth at the 2001 World Championships in Lucerne, Switzerland in August.

Washington opens its 2002 racing season with the annual Class Day races March 30 on the Montlake Cut.

USRowing 2001 Collegiate Honor Roll
Women's First Team

Sharon Betz - Bedford, Mass. - Johns Hopkins University
Krista Buzzell - Fenton, Mich. - Michigan State University
Giulia Cangiano - Newton, Mass. - Wesleyan University
Brianne Higgins - Manhasset, N.Y. - Loyola College
Barbara Kiviat - Salisbury, Md. - Johns Hopkins University
Rebecca Luckett - Columbus, Ohio - University of Notre Dame
Anna Mickelson - Bellevue, Wash. - University of Washington
Deirdre O'Callaghan - Brooklyn, N.Y. - Fordham University
Dawn Waters - Sugar Land, Texas - Johns Hopkins University

Women's Second Team
Kathryn Daly - Cantonsville, Md. - University of Virginia
Katherine Griswold - Shaker Heights, Ohio - Princeton University
Sabrina Linden - Bishop, Calif. - St. Mary's College of California
Rachel Miller - Meeteetse, Wyo. - Michigan State University
Lisa Padowitz - San Diego, Calif. - Brandeis University
Sarah Rogers - Newton, Kan. - Wichita State University
Ashlee Warren - Gibsonburg, Ohio - University of Notre Dame
Alicia Weber - Placerville, Calif. - California State University - Sacramento

Men's First Team
John Damen - Cincinnati, Ohio - University of Cincinnati
Kenneth Davies - Ithaca, N.Y. - Cornell University
Alfred Garfall - Voorhies, N.J. - Princeton University
Michael Johnson - Moore, Ok. - Oklahoma City University
Karl Korfmann - Wyalusing, Pa. - Manhattan College
Mark Laughter - Boston, Mass. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Craig Perry - Natick, Mass. - Princeton University
Colin Sheehan - Flushing, N.Y. - Manhattan College

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder