Ritchie Named National Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Jan. 23, 2002

Seattle, Wash. - Washington soccer player Bryn Ritchie capped a stellar collegiate career by being named the NSCAA/adidas National Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He was joined by women's player Danielle Slaton of Santa Clara University. The pair were presented the prestigious awards Jan. 19 at the National Soccer Coaches Association (NSCAA) All-America Luncheon at the annual convention in Philadelphia.

Ritchie, from Medford, Ore., currently carries a 3.64 grade point average and is majoring in business and international studies. It is the second year in a row a player from the Pac-10 Conference has received the men's honor, following Stanford's Ryan Nelson in 2000.

The honor caps a career that saw Ritchie, a team captain in 2001, excel both on and off the field. A two-time all-America honoree as a junior and senior, he helped lead the Husky men's soccer team to three consecutive conference titles, including the first-ever Pac-10 Conference championship in 2000. His teams earned invitations to the NCAA Tournament each year, adding to a string of seven consecutive postseason appearances by the Huskies and making Washington one of only seven schools in the country to own such a streak.

A four-year starting defender, Ritchie is a two-time All-Pac-10 Conference First Team honoree for his efforts on the field and a two-time first team all-academic selection for his efforts in the classroom. He was also recently named to the CoSIDA/Verizon Academic All-District Team, a nomination that puts him on the national ballot for further academic honors, for the second year in a row,

Washington finished the 2001 season with a record of 13-6-0 overall and 4-4-0 in the Pac-10. After receiving a first round bye, the Huskies met Northwest rival Portland in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, where the Pilots won, 1-0, at Husky Soccer Field.

NSCAA/adidas Men's Scholar-Athletes of the Year
1997 - Kevin Quigley. Saint Louis University, Fountain Valley, Calif.
1998 - Jay Heaps, Duke University, Longmeadow, Mass.
1999 - Assaf Dagai, Southern Connecticut State, Ein-Shemer, Israel
2000 - Ryan Nelsen, Stanford University, Christchurch, New Zealand
2001- Bryn Ritchie, University of Washington, Medford, Ore.

NSCAA/adidas Women's Scholar-Athletes of the Year
1997 - Courtney Mathieson, University of Montana, Redmond, Wash.
1998 - Emily Stauffer, Harvard University, New Canaan, Conn.
1999 - Sarah Yohe, University of Florida, Maitland, Fla.
2000 - Jaclyn Raveia, Richmond, Fairfax, Va.
2001 - Danielle Slaton, Santa Clara University, San Jose, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network