Wrestling Completes Saturday Sweep With 40-6 Win Over Cal State Bakersfield

Jan. 26, 2002

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. - Following a 28-15 victory at Cal Poly earlier in the day, 11th-ranked Arizona State wrestling completed its Pac-10 sweep with a dominating 40-6 victory at Cal State Bakersfield Saturday night at the Icardo Center.

The afternoon commute between San Luis Obispo and Bakersfield didn't hamper the Sun Devils any, as the only points scored by the Roadrunners came with an ASU forfeit at 149 pounds. ASU won five of its nine matches by bonus points, not including a CSUB forfeit at heavyweight. Sophomore Nick Frost and freshman Will Carr recorded pins at 165 and 184 pounds, respectively, while senior David Douglas recorded a technical fall at 133 and freshman Chris Petrie (174) and senior Erik Gladish (197) each earned major decision victories.

With the two wins today, ASU improves its overall record to 7-2 overall and 5-0 against Pac-10 opponents. Cal State Bakersfield drops to 2-4 overall and 0-3 in the Pac-10.ASU opened the night with an exciting 7-5 overtime decision by redshirt freshman Mike Simpson over Matt Sanchez at 125 pounds. Douglas then turned in a 17-2 technical fall win over Efren Ceballos at 133 pounds, and redshirt freshman Evan Larkin followed with a 10-7 decision over Ryan Meloche at 141.

CSUB's Thomas Juarez picked up the Roadrunners' only points of the night when ASU forfeited at 149, only to have the Sun Devils rattle off five straight wins and finish with a CSUB forfeit at heavyweight to seal the 40-6 victory. Also included among those wins was an 8-4 decision by junior Rocky Smart over Brian Cobb at 157.

The Sun Devils now return home to host an important four-match homestand beginning with No. 22 Nebraska, Friday, Feb. 1, at 7 p.m., followed by Pac-10 rival Oregon, Sunday, Feb. 3, at 1 p.m.

No. 11 Arizona State 40, Cal State Bakersfield 6
125: Mike Simpson (ASU) dec. Matt Sanchez (CSB), 7-5 ot
133: David Douglas (ASU) tech. fall Efren Ceballos (CSB), 17-2
141: Evan Larkin (ASU) dec. Ryan Meloche (CSB), 10-7
149: Thomas Juarez (CSB) wins by forfeit
157: Rocky Smart (ASU) dec. Brian Cobb (CSB), 8-4
165: Nick Frost (ASU) pinned Bryan Busby (CSB), 1:23
174: Chris Petrie (ASU) major dec. Bryan Travers (CSB), 12-4
184: Will Carr (ASU) pinned Scott O'Rear (CSB), 3:34
197: Erik Gladish (ASU) major dec. Robbie O'Dell (CSB), 13-4
HWT: Kellan Fluckiger (ASU) wins by forfeit

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder