WSU Indoor Track & Field at Moscow For McDonald's I Open

Jan. 28, 2002

Complete Weekly Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

BACK TO OVAL: The Washington State University's indoor track and field teams will be competing this weekend at the Moscow McDonald's I Open meet at the Kibbie Dome on the University of Idaho campus...the Cougars did not compete last weekend...field events begin at 6 p.m. Friday, Feb. 1, and continue Saturday, Feb. 2, beginning at 8:30 a.m....all running events begin at 10 a.m. Saturday.

ABOUT THE COUGAR COACHES: Head coach Rick Sloan is in his 29th season with the Cougar track program (eighth year as a head coach, seventh year as mentor to the combined men's and women's program)...he is joined by associate coach Debra Farwell, and assistant coaches Dr. James Li, Mark Macdonald, Kris Grimes, and Francesca Green...volunteer coaches are Dan O'Brien and Bernard Lagat.

TEAM HISTORY: Because the Pacific-10 Conference does not sponsor indoor track and field competition, Washington State University competes in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation for indoor track season joining teams from the Pac-10, Mountain West, Western Athletic, West Coast and Big West Conferences...the Cougar men's team won the MPSF Indoor Championships last year while the women were team champs in 1999 and 2000...Cougar coach Rick Sloan was named West Region Men's Indoor Coach of the Year by the US Track Coaches Association.

SLOAN ON TUESDAY CONFERENCE CALL: Cougar coach Rick Sloan will be on the WSU Sports Information Weekly Teleconference Tuesday, Jan. 29, from 1:20 p.m. until 1:30 p.m....interested media members should call the WSU Sports Information Office at 509/335-COUG (2684) for the phone number and password.


60m - Dan Brink, Anthony Buchanan, Bennie Chatman, Anson Henry
200m - Dan Brink, Anthony Buchanan, Bennie Chatman, Anson Henry
400m - Dione Cason, Eric Dudley, Anthony Edwards, Qieed Ishmael, Scott Kuklinski
800m - Jacob Hazelquist, Justin Ireland, Jon Manthey, Justin Temple
Mile - Kyle Barker, Ian Johnson, Scott Johnson, James Neeway, Jon Welsh
3000m - Mike Barbero, Oscar Franco-Parra, Mike Heidt, Mark Wicklander, Dan Wolf
55m Hurdles - Eric Dudley
4x400m Relay - Brink, Cason, Dudley, Edwards, Hazelquist, Ireland, Ishmael, Kuklinski, Manthey, Temple
High Jump - Joel Gordon, Patrick Harrigan, Piero Vojvodic
Pole Vault - Rick Collins, Andy Kammenga, Paul Nicoletti, Justin Nikbakhsh-Tali, Ryan Turner
Long Jump - Brian Graham, Patrick Harrigan, Justin Nikbakhsh-Tali, Peter Rizzardi, Jamil Smith
Triple Jump - Brian Graham, Peter Rizzardi, Jamil Smith, Piero Vojvodic
Shot Put - Tim Gehring, Shaun Straka
Weight Throw - Tim Gehring, Shaun Straka
TBA athletes - Steve Dwyer, Sam Lightbody, Rien Long, Darion Powell, Billy Reamer

WSU Women
60m - Tamara Gulley, Dalila Russell, Bree Skinner
200m - Tiffany Giles, Erin Reed, Dalila Russell, Bree Skinner
400m - Heidi Abersfeller, Alison Eldridge, Tiffany Giles, Erin Reed, Randi Smith
800m - Brittney Boysen
Mile - Anna Blue, Molly Bull, Hillary Smith, Beth Welander
3000m - Anna Blue, Julia Corbett, Jenny Filipy, Ryan Gilmore
55m Hurdles - Heidi Abersfeller, Tamara Gulley, Randi Smith
4x400m Relay - Abersfeller, Boysen, Eldridge, Giles, Gulley, Reed, Skinner, R. Smith
High Jump - Schquay Brignac, Briana Willis
Pole Vault - Tamara Diles, Karla McGee, Stephanie Robinett
Long Jump - Schquay Brignac, Itoro Elijah, Tamara Gulley, Blessing Ufodiama
Triple Jump - Alison Eldridge, Itoro Elijah, Blessing Ufodiama
Shot Put - Brittany Hinchcliffe, Marie Muai, Shannon Rance
Weight Throw - Brittany Hinchcliffe, Sammy Jo Missel, Marie Muai
Discus - Brittany Hinchcliffe, Marie Muai, Shannon Rance
TBA athletes - Whitney Evans, Ellannee Richardson

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network