Rowing Coach Jan Harville Named Seattle PI Sports Star of the Year

Jan. 30, 2002

Seattle - Washington women's rowing coach Jan Harville, who led the Huskies to the NCAA championship, was honored as the Seattle Post-Intelligencer 2001 Sports Star of the Year at the newspaper's annual banquet Monday night. Seattle Mariners right fielder Ichiro Suzuki, the first player in history to win a batting championship, MVP and Rookie of the Year awards in the same season, was presented the men's award. The pair won by one of the largest margins since the audience began voting in 1974. The prestigious award has been presented annually since 1935 to outstanding Seattle sports figures.

This year women's nominees included Husky junior Loree Payne, who helped lead the UW women's basketball team to the 2001 NCAA Elite Eight, Huskies soccer goalkeeper Hope Solo, a finalist for the national player of the year, Lauren Jackson, of the WNBA's Seattle Storm, and Gyongyver Balogh, a four-year all-conference basketball player at Seattle Pacific University.

The men's nominees included UW All-American defensive tackle Larry Tripplett, Seahawk running back Shaun Alexander, Sonics guard Brent Barry and Olympic speedskater Apolo Anton Ohno.

Harville, who is in her 15th season as head coach at Washington, led the Huskies to their third NCAA Championship last season. Her team claimed gold medals in the varsity eight and varsity four and a silver medal in the junior varsity eight en route to the national team title that was the third in the last five years (1997, '98).

Three of Harville's varsity team members earned first team all-America honors, three earned academic all-America honors and in addition, Heidi Hurn, Anna Mickelson and Mary Whipple were selected to the U.S. National Team that competed at the World Championships in August.

A former rower at Washington, Harville also led her team to a 10th consecutive Pac-10 championship and was named conference coach of the year for the eighth time in 2001.

Harville was a finalist for the Sports Star award in 1997, after Washington won its first NCAA title, the first by any sport at the university. She is the third Washington rowing person to be honored. Legendary coach Al Ulbrickson was the second recipient of the award, in 1936, and rower Ted Garhart was presented the honor in 1943. Current men's head coach Bob Ernst was a finalist in 1982.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder