Men's Swimming Dominates 50y Free In First Session vs. Texas

Feb. 1, 2002

TUCSON, Ariz. - Led by sophomore Nick Brunelli, members of Arizona State's fifth-ranked men's swimming and diving team captured four of the first six spots in the 50-yard freestyle to highlight the first session of competition in its dual meet with No. 3 Texas at the University of Arizona's Hillenbrand Aquatic Center.

Brunelli won the event, touching the wall in 20.60, nipping Longhorn Ian Crocker's pace of 20.63. Sun Devil senior Simon MacDonald placed third in 20.66, while Bobby Zaabadich (20.78) and Justin Mathias (20.88) were fifth and sixth, respectively. Despite ASU's dominance at that event, the Sun Devils trail 62-48 after the first of three sessions of competition.

Although swimming in a different order, the same quartet of sprinters earned ASU's only other first-place finish Friday, combining to go 1:20.58 in the 200y free relay. A pair of Texas teams followed at 1:21.45 and 1:22.24.

Picking up third-place finishes were senior Gavin Meadows in the 500y free and sophomore Gordon Blukis in the 3-meter springboard. Meadows swam his slowest time in eight races dating back to early November, but still touched in 4:34.16. Senior Mike Dowling was the second-fastest Sun Devil in the 500y free with a time of 4:34.16.

In the springboard, Blukis earned his best 3-meter championship dive score of the season at 527.35, while teammate Thomas McCrummen placed fourth with a score of 501.30. UT's Troy Dumais, the two-time NCAA diver of the year, won the event with a score of 637.15.

Other events staged Friday were the 400y medley relay and the 200y individual medley. The Sun Devils fared better in the relay, finishing runner-up in 3:21.44. In the 200y IM, Adam Bugledich (1:54.33) and Christian Harcsas (1:54.50) finished seventh and eighth, respectively to lead ASU.

ASU and Texas will concluded their meet tomorrow afternoon. The second session is set to begin at 9:00 a.m., with the third and final session at 2:00 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network