Wrestling Narrowly Nudged By No. 24 Boise State

Feb. 1, 2002

BOISE, Idaho - Boise State's Pat Owens scored a two-point take down in overtime of the night's final match to defeat Shane Webster 13-11 and enable the Boise State University wrestling team to post a 19-13 victory over the Oregon wrestling team.

'We let one get away from us tonight,' Oregon head coach Chuck Kearney said. 'There were some spots that we didn't wrestle as well as we needed to. Hopefully the team will turn this around and use it as a learning experience.'

Oregon trailed by three points, 16-13 heading into 174-pound weight pound class. Owens and Webster battled back and fourth throughout their match with Webster leading 6-5 at the end of the first period, before Owens battled back in the second period to take a 8-7 lead. In the final period of regulation, Webster was able to the tie the match at 11 with one takedown and two escapes. Owens won the match when he was able to record a two-point takedown in the first 20 seconds of overtime.

The Boise State victory was the seventh straight dual match win for the No. 24 Broncos as they improved their overall record to 7-3, and 4-1 in Pac-10 Conference matches this season. Oregon falls to 3-5, and 2-2 in the Pacific-10 Conference.

Oregon held a 6-3 lead following the first three matches. The host Broncos then won four straight matches beginning in the 125-pound weight class as fourth ranked Ben VomBaur defeated 12th ranked Shaun Williams, 9-2. Boise State also received decisions at 133 pounds and 141 pounds by Jesse Brock and Gabe Vigil, respectively, before 10th ranked Collin Robertson scored a major decision over Casey Hunt (10-2) at 149 pounds to give the Broncos a 16-9 lead.

The Ducks cut Boise State's lead to three points (16-13) with a decision at 157 pounds, and a major decision by fifth-ranked Eugene Harris at 165 pounds in a 19-5 win over Boise State's Nathan Ploehn.

Oregon heads to the desert to face No. 10 Arizona State Sunday at noon.

Following are complete match-by-match results in the order they were wrestled.

184 : Tony D'Amico (BSU) dec. Elias Soto (UO) 9-8197 : Jake Leair (UO) dec. Jacob McGinnis (BSU) 4-2HWT : Eric Webb (UO) dec. Boe Rushton (BSU) 4-3125 : Ben VomBaur (BSU) dec. Shaun Williams (UO) 9-2133 : Jesse Brock (BSU) dec. Martin Mitchell (UO) 7-3141 : Gabe Vigil (BSU) dec. Brian Watson (UO) 4-3149 : Collin Robertson (BSU) major dec. Casey Hunt (UO) 10-2157 : Tony Overstake (UO) dec. Tyler Robertson (BSU) 11-5165 : Eugene Harris (UO) major dec. Nathan Ploehn (BSU) 19-5174 : Pat Owens (BSU) dec. Shane Webster (UO) 13-11 OT
Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder