NACWAA Announces Eighth Annual State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic Field

Feb. 11, 2002

Wilmington, NC - The National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators (NACWAA) is pleased to announce the selected host and teams for the eighth annual State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic. The 2002 State Farm Women's Volleyball Classic will be held on Friday and Saturday, August 23 and 24 at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, MN. Joining Minnesota in the Volleyball Classic will be the University of Northern Iowa, Pepperdine University and Stanford University.

'We are thrilled to have been selected to host this prestigious event and commit to its continuing excellence. I am even more proud to be associated with the NACWAA organization and very much appreciate the continued support of State Farm Insurance Companies in sponsoring this elite Volleyball Classic,' said Chris Voelz, Women's Athletic Director at the University of Minnesota.

Stanford, the 2001 defending National Champion, notched its NCAA record fifth national championship.* Stanford has two AVCA All-Americans returning including Logan Tom (AVCA National Player of the Year). Pepperdine, who was ranked No. 8 at the end of 2001, has five of their starters returning, including Katie Wilkins, a second-team AVCA All-American.

'It's an honor to be chosen for this event,' said Cardinal head coach John Dunning. 'It's great for any team to play such great competition to start the season. This is one of the showcase events of our sport. We are excited to be a part of it.'

Northern Iowa, ranked No. 16 at the end of 2001, has five of their starters returning and only lost one senior. Minnesota, host of the classic, made its third consecutive trip to the NCAA tournament last year and has three of six starters returning for 2002.

Minnesota, Northern Iowa and Pepperdine are making first appearances in the State Farm Volleyball Classic, while Stanford is making its third trip to the event.

Pairings for the 2002 State Farm Classic will be Stanford vs. Northern Iowa and Pepperdine vs. Minnesota.

* First-year head coach John Dunning became the first Division I coach to win a national championship at two different schools (Pacific and Stanford). He also becomes the only coach to win a national championship in his first year as head coach (Pacific and Stanford).

courtesy of NACWAA

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder