Husky Men's Golfers Travel to Hawaii

Feb. 12, 2002

Seattle - The 14th-ranked Washington men's golf team travels to Hawaii for the 12th Annual Taylor Made/Waikoloa Intercollegiate, Feb. 13-15 in Kona, Hawaii. The Huskies are one of 24 teams that will compete at the 6,594-yard, par-72 Waikoloa Kings' Course.

Seven teams ranked among the nation's top 25 are included in this year's field. That group includes: No. 1 Georgia Tech, No. 7 Texas Christian, No. 9 Southern California, No. 10 Fresno State, No. 14 Washington, No. 15 Oklahoma and No. 22 Pepperdine.

Last year the Huskies finished eighth at the Waikoloa Intercollegiate with a score of 923. Texas won the team title with a 54-hole total of 893. Brock Mackenzie was the Huskies top finisher, placing 13th with a score of 225.

The field for the Taylor Made/Waikoloa Intercollegiate includes: Arizona State, Arkansas, UC-Santa Barbara, Fresno State, Georgia Tech, Hawaii-Hilo, Hawaii, Houston, Kansas, Mississippi, Nagoya Univ., Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, Oregon State, Pepperdine, Rhode Island, Texas A&M, Texas Christian, Stanford, UNLV, USC, UTEP, Washington,

Past Champions
Year Team Medalists

1991  Oklahoma State   Craig Hainline, Oklahoma State
1992 UNLV Alan Bratton, Oklahoma State
1993 Arkansas Todd Dempsey, Arizona State
1994 Arizona State Notah Begay, Stanford
1995 Oklahoma State Chris Hanell, Arizona State
1996 Oklahoma State Jim Skinner, SMU
1997 UNLV Bill Lunde, UNLV
1998 UNLV James Watt, Nevada-Reno
1999 Georgia Tech Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech
2000 Georgia Tech Matt Kuchar, Georgia
2001 Texas Sprague Kolp, Nevada
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder