Men's Tennis Posts Second Straight Shutout, Blanking Texas Tech, 7-0

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State men's tennis team (2-0), served up a defeat for Texas Tech today at the Whiteman Tennis Center. The Sun Devils were flawless as they swept the match 7-0, leaving little room for mistakes.

In doubles action, ASU won the first point of the dual by winning two of the three matches.

The Sun Devils top duo of Mitchell Bowen and Matt Klinger finished first on the No, 1 court where they dispatched Texas Tech's Richard Crabtree and Ben Gudzelak, 8-4.

ASU claimed the point on the No. 3 court when Olivier Charroin and Chris Stewart defeated Innerebner and John Walker, 8-4.

In singles, ASU enjoyed victory in every match.

As Clinton Letcher defeated Alphonso Perez 6-1, 6-3, Olivier Charroin found success versus Richard Crabtree, winning in two sets 7-5, 6-3.

Mirza Duranovic sealed ASU's fourth point by defeating Innerebner 6-3, 6-2.

The Sun Devils were not finished though, both Chris Stewart and Pim Van Mele finished off their own victories with Stewart defeating John Walker 6-1, 6-3, and Van Mele sealing the win with his victory over Ben Gudzelak 6-4, 3-6, 6-4.

Only one match was won by default, which was Matt Klinger versus Royce Ramey, who suffered an injury, thus unable to compete.


1. Bowen/Klinger (ASU) def. Crabtree/Gudzelak (TT), 8-4

2. Perez/Ramey (TT) def. Letcher/Van Mele (ASU), 9-7

3. Charroin/Stewart (ASU) def. Innerebner/Walker (TT), 8-4


1. Klinger (ASU) def. Ramey (TT), Default, INJ.

2. Van Mele (ASU) def. Gudzelak (TT), 6-4, 3-6, 6-4

3. Letcher (ASU) def. Perez (TT), 6-1, 6-3

4. Charroin (ASU) def. Crabtree (TT) 7-5, 6-3

5. Duranovic (ASU) def. Innerebner (TT) 6-3, 6-2

6. Stewart (ASU) def. Walker (TT) 6-1, 6-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network