Stanford's Tim Mayotte To Be Inducted Into The Intercollegiate Tennis Association Hall Of Fame

Feb. 26, 2002

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford University product Tim Mayotte has been selected as one of seven members of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2002. The class will be inducted in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Tennis Championships on May 22 in College Station, Texas.

Mayotte will be the 11th Stanford player inducted into the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Hall of Fame, and first since John Whitlinger in 1999. Other Stanford ITA Hall of Fame inductees are Ted Schroeder, Keith Gledhill, Alex Mayer, Roscoe Tanner, John Doeg, R. Lindley Murray, Robert Renker, Jon Douglas and John McEnroe.

Mayotte, who played at Stanford in the 1979-80 and 1980-81 season, was the 1981 NC AA Singles Champion and led the Cardinal to the national team title that same season.

He then went on to a distinguished professional career, and was ranked as high as No. 7 in the world in 1988. He reached the Wimbledon semifinals in 1982, the Australian Open semifinals in 1983 and was a silver medalist at the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul, South Korea.

Mayotte is joined in the induction class of 2002 by Richard Harte (Harvard), Julius Seligson (Lehigh), Erick Iskersky (Trinity), Paul Annacone (Tennessee), Rick Leach (Southern California) and Bernis Duke (Oral Roberts).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder