Tara VanDerveer A Finalist For The Naismith College Women's Basketball Coach Of The Year Award

Feb. 26, 2002

ATLANTA, Ga. - Stanford University's Tara VanDerveer has been named as one of 20 finalists for the Naismith Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year Award.

The winner of the Naismith Women's Coach of the Year Award will be honored in Atlanta, Georgia at the Cobb Galleria Centre on April 2.

VanDerveer led the second-ranked Cardinal to a 28-1 regular season, including a perfect 18-0 record in the Pacific-10 Conference. VanDerveer, who will be inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame later this year, is 544-154 (.779) in 22 seasons overall and 392-103 (.792) in 15 seasons at Stanford. She has led Stanford to two NCAA Championships, five Final Four appearances and 10 Pacific-10 Conference titles.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 34th year, honors the outstanding college basketball coaches in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of excellence in basketball.

The other finalists for the honor are Jane Albright (Wisconsin), Geno Auriemma (Connecticut), Ceal Barry (Colorado), Leon Barmore (Louisiana Tech), Sherri Coale (Oklahoma), Tom Collen (Colorado State), Jody Conradt (Texas), Kristy Curry (Purdue), Bill Fennelly (Iowa State), Jim Foster (Vanderbilt), Gail Goestenkors (Duke), Cathy Inglese (Boston College), Kim Mulkey-Robertson (Baylor), Brenda Oldfield (Minnesota), Deb Patterson (Kansas State), Carol Ross (Florida), Marsha Sharp (Texas Tech), Pat Summitt (Tennessee) and Susan Walvius (South Carolina).

Earlier this month, Stanford sophomore guard Nicole Powell (Phoenix, AZ/Mountain Pointe HS) was named as one of 20 finalists for the Naismith College Women's Basketball Player of the Year Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder