Pac-10 Wrestling Championships Release

Feb. 27, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The 43rd Pacific-10 Conference Wrestling Championships will take place Saturday, March 2, and Sunday, March 3, at Gill Coliseum on the campus of Oregon State University in Corvallis, Ore. The two-day tournament is divided into four sessions culminating with the championship finals matches Sunday evening. First-round action commences at 11 a.m. PST on Saturday morning. Championship finals begin at 6:30 p.m. PST Sunday night. Following is the tournament schedule. Note that times listed are Pacific Standard Times (PST).

Saturday, March 2
11 a.m. - Session I (Pigtails & Quarterfinals)6 p.m. - Session II (Consolation & Semifinals)

Sunday, March 3
11 a.m - Session III (Consolation Semifinals & Fifth-Place matches)6:30 p.m. - Session IV (Championship Finals & Third-Place matches)

There will be 10 institutions competing for the Conference Championship: No. 13 ARIZONA STATE, BOISE STATE, UC DAVIS, CAL POLY, CS BAKERSFIELD, CS FULLERTON, No. 23 OREGON, No. 25 OREGON STATE, PORTLAND STATE and STANFORD.

The facility seats 10,400 people with all being available, if needed. Seating for the Pac-10 Championships is general admission only.

The Pac-10 wrestling coaches' seeding meeting will take place Friday, March 1, at 2:00 p.m. (Gill 110). At that time, technical aspects of the meet will be discussed, along with agenda items submitted to the Pac-10 office.

Kip Carlson, Assistant Sports Information Director at Oregon State University, will coordinate the media for the 2002 Pac-10 Championships. All requests for press credentials should be directed to Carlson at (541) 737-7472. All Pac-10 Championship results will be updated daily on the Oregon State Athletics' web page,

Single Session tickets are $7 per adult and $6 per child or senior. All sessions passes are priced at $25 for adults and $21 for children and seniors. Child tickets start at age 3. For more information, contact the Oregon State ticket office at 1-800-GOBEAVS. Tickets will also be available at the ticket booths of Gill Coliseum on March 2-3.

In addition to the Pac-10 championship, at stake is a berth to the NCAA Championships, which will take place March 21-23 at Pepsi Arena in Albany, N.Y. The top four wrestlers in each weight class will automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships, along with three other at-large bids.

Following is the InterMat Wrestling Top 25 and the individual Pac-10 wrestlers (top 20) who are currently ranked in their respective weight classes as seen by InterMat (included in each category is the top individual in the country).

InterMat Top 25 Poll(NCAA - Division I)

1. Minnesota 2. Michigan 3. Iowa 4. Ohio State 5. Oklahoma State 6. Oklahoma 7. Iowa State 8. Pennsylvania 9. Missouri10. Illinois11. West Virginia12. Lehigh13. ARIZONA STATE14. Purdue15. Lock Haven16. Edinboro17. Northern Iowa18. Wisconsin19. Central Michigan20. Cornell21. Hofstra22. Michigan State23. OREGON24. Fresno State25. OREGON STATE

ARIZONA STATE won its third Pac-10 Championship in the last five years in 2001. The Sun Devils won the title with a 123.50 mark, knocking off 2000 Pac-10 Champion Boise State by 13 points. For the second consecutive year, nine out of ten Conference teams sent qualifiers to the NCAA Championships and eight wrestlers claimed All-America status. Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year honors went to ARIZONA STATE's Eric Larkin, who finished first at the Pac-10's and third at the NCAA's in the 141-pound weight class. OREGON STATE's Jed Pennell was awarded the Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year while ARIZONA STATE head coach Lee Roy Smith was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder