UW's Doug Wrenn is Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year

Feb. 27, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Washington sophomore Doug Wrenn was named the 2002 Pacific-10 Conference Men's Basketball Fred Hessler Award winner honoring the league's Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Wednesday.

For the 10th straight season, the Newcomer of the Year was selected by the Pac-10 radio play-by-play announcers, and named in honor of the late UCLA broadcaster.

A 6-foot-8 forward from Seattle, Wash., Wrenn started 24 of 26 games this season. He is averaging 20.0 points and 6.4 rebounds for the Huskies (10-17 overall, 4-13 in the Pac-10) who are still in the hunt for the eighth and final berth to the Pac-10 Tournament that runs March 7-9 at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Wrenn currently has 520 points to rank 15th among all-time Washington single-season scorers. His team-leading 20.0 points per contest is the eighth-highest single-season figure in Husky history and the best scoring output since Chris Welp averaged 20.8 points in 1986-87.

Wrenn is the Pac-10's third-leading scorer while his 6.4 rebounds per game rank second on the team and No. 13 in the conference.

Earlier this season, Wrenn reached the 30-point plateau in three consecutive games, becoming the third player in Washington history to accomplish that feat. He has 12 games with at least 20 points and led all Husky scorers on 20 occasions.

Wrenn is a product of Seattle's O'Dea High School where he was a Parade All-American and the 1998 Washington state Player of the Year. He transferred to UW from the University of Connecticut where he lettered for one season (1999-2000) and appeared in 24 games. Wrenn averaged 2.3 points and 1.0 rebounds per game while averaging 7.0 minutes off the bench for defending national champion UConn.

This is the first time a player from Washington has been honored as Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year.

The other Pac-10 men's basketball awards, including the all-conference and all-freshmen teams along with the player, freshman and coach of the year will be announced on Wednesday, March 6 during the Pac-10 Hall of Honor Banquet in Los Angeles.

Fred Hessler Award (Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year)

2002 -- Doug Wrenn, Washington
2001 -- J Locklier, Washington State
2000 -- Loren Woods, Arizona
1999 -- Brian Scalabrine, USC
1998 -- Bobby Lazor, Arizona State
1997 -- Rodrick Rhodes, USC
1996 -- Ed Gray, California
1995 -- Shamon Antrum, Washington State
1994 -- Isaac Burton, Arizona State
1993 -- Marcell Capers, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder