Nicole Powell, Tara VanDerveer Earn Pac-10 Honors

Feb. 28, 2002

EUGENE, Ore. - Stanford University's Nicole Powell (Phoenix, AZ/Mountain Pointe HS) became just the second sophomore to ever win Pacific-10 Conference Player of the Year Honors, commissioner Tom Hansen announced on Thursday night.

Stanford University head coach Tara VanDerveer also earned her fifth career Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year honor, and first since 1996-97, on Thursday at the banquet for the inaugural Pac-10 Tournament.

Powell, who named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year last season, is averaging 15.9 points, 9.3 rebounds and 6.1 assists for the second-ranked Cardinal (28-1 overall, 18-0 Pac-10). In Pac-10 play, she averaged 16.7 points, 9.3 rebounds and 6.7 assists. The 2002 Naismith Award Finalist ranks among the top eight in the conference in nine of a possible 12 categories, and is first in assists, second in rebounding and seventh in scoring.Powell is the sixth Stanford player to win Pac-10 Player of the Year honors, and first since Kate Starbird in 1996-97. The only other sophomore to win Pac-10 Player of the Year honors was Oregon's Shaquala Williams in 1999-2000.

Powell was also named First Team All-Pac-10 for the second consecutive season (only the seventh Stanford player to become a two-time All-Pac-10 selection and first since Milena Flores in 1998-99 and 1999-2000), and was joined on the all-conference squad by senior teammate Lindsey Yamasaki (Oregon City, OR/Oregon City HS). Yamasaki is averaging 17.4 points, 4.9 rebounds and 2.6 assists per contest, and ranks third in the Pac-10 in both scoring and 3-pointers per game (2.00). The First Team All-Pac-10 honor is the first of Yamasaki's career. She was an Honorable Mention All-Pac-10 selection in both 1998-99 and 2000-01.

Stanford earned two spots on the All-Pac-10 First Team for the first time since Vanessa Nygaard and Olympia Scott in 1997-98. The Cardinal has 33 all-time Pac-10 selections to easily outdistance second place Washington's 22.

Stanford senior center Bethany Donaphin (New York, NY/Horace Mann HS) received Honorable Mention All-Pac-10 honors.

VanDerveer led Stanford to a perfect 18-0 Pac-10 record for the third time in her career. She is 544-154 (.779) in 22-plus season as a collegiate coach and 392-103 (.792) in 15-plus seasons on The Farm. She has guided the Cardinal to 10 Pacific-10 Conference regular season titles, including two in a row.

The Cardinal also landed two of the five spots on the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team. Stanford was represented on the team by guard Kelley Suminski (Chester, NJ/Mendham HS) and forward T'Nae Thiel (Weatherford, TX/Weatherford HS). Suminski is averaging 8.3 points, 2.9 assists and 2.1 rebounds, and leads the Pac-10 in 3-point percentage at 47.9. Thiel is averaging 6.4 points and 5.8 rebounds per contest, and is 13th in the conference in rebounds per game.

Stanford has not had two All-Freshman Team selections since Kristin Folkl and Naomi Mulitauaopele in 1994-95. The Cardinal leads the way with 17 all-time Pac-10 Freshman Team selections, while Arizona, Oregon, UCLA, USC and Washington are tied with eight. Stanford has also not had both two First Team All-Conference (Anita Kaplan and Kate Starbird) and two All-Freshman Team selections since 1994-95.

Arizona guard Dee Dee Wheeler was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year.

Cardinal guard Sebnem Kimyacioglu (Mountain View, CA/Pinewood School) received Honorable Mention All-Freshman honors.

Stanford will open Pac-10 Tournament play on Saturday at 6:00 p.m. at McArthur Court against either California or UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder