Oregon's Kent and Jones Receive Writers' All-District Honors

March 6, 2002

EUGENE - University of Oregon men's basketball head coach Ernie Kent was selected District IX Coach of the Year and senior Frederick Jones was named to the all-district team as voted by the United States Basketball Writers Association in honors announced Wednesday.

It marks the first such honor accumulated by the Ducks' fifth-year head coach, who led Oregon to a 22-7 regular season record and its first undisputed men's conference championship since 1939. In addition, the assistant coach on last summer's USA Basketball's 21-and-under national team has coached his alma mater ('77) to what is expected to be its third post-season appearance since the 1997-98 season. It would also mark his third NCAA Tournament appearance as a collegiate head coach (St. Mary's, 1997, Oregon, 2000).

Jones ranks fifth in the Pacific-10 Conference in scoring (18.6 avg.) and is second on the team in rebounding (5.7 avg.). He was one of 10 players voted by the writers to the all-district team after previously earning all-district recognition by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Joining Jones on the USBWA all-district team are Arizona's Jason Gardner and Luke Walton, Sam Clancy of USC, Dan Dickau from Gonzaga, Jerry Green of UC Irvine, San Diego State's Randy Holcomb, Stanford's Casey Jacobsen, Jason Kapono of UCLA and Hawaii's Predrag Savovic.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder