Chad Prewitt Earns All-Pac-10 Honors, Byron Scott Inducted Into Hall of Honor

March 7, 2002

LOS ANGELES - In a vote of the 10 Conference coaches, USC senior forward Sam Clancy has been named the 2001-02 Pacific-10 Men's Basketball Player of the Year, ARIZONA guard Salim Stoudamire has been named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, and Ernie Kent of OREGON is the Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Arizona State senior Chad Prewitt earned All-Pac-10 honors. Prewitt is a first time All-Conference selection. This season, he has led the Sun Devils in scoring with 17.6 points per game (sixth in the Pac-10) and rebounding with 6.8 rebounds per game (10th in the Pac-10). Earlier this year, Prewitt became the 27th Sun Devil to join the 1,000-point club and currently ranks 18th on the school's all-time list with 1,158 career points.

Arizona State also inducted Byron Scott as its initial member of the Pac-10 Hall of Honor. Each university nominated one person into the Hall of Honor at a banquet tonight.

The complete Conference honors:

ALL-PAC-10 Name School Pos Yr Ht Wt Hometown (Last School)

Curtis Borchardt STAN C Jr. 7-0 230 Redmond, Wash. (Eastlake HS)

Sam Clancy USC F Sr. 6-7 240 Fairview, Ohio (St. Edward HS)

Jason Gardner ARIZ G Jr. 5-10 181 Indianapolis, Ind. (North Central HS)

Casey Jacobsen STAN G/F Jr. 6-6 210 Glendora, Calif. (Glendora HS)

Frederick Jones ORE G Sr. 6-4 210 Portland, Ore. (Barlow HS)

Jason Kapono UCLA F Jr. 6-8 206 Lakewood, Calif. (Artesia HS)

Chad Prewitt ASU F/C Sr. 6-9 241 Phoenix, Ariz. (Greenway HS)

Luke Ridnour ORE G So. 6-2 165 Blaine, Wash. (Blaine HS)

Luke Walton ARIZ F Jr. 6-8 241 San Diego, Calif. (University HS)

Doug Wrenn WASH F So. 6-8 210 Seattle, Wash. (Connecticut)

Honorable Mention (also receiving votes): David Bluthenthal (USC, Sr., F), Dan Gadzuric (UCLA, Sr., C), Brandon Granville (USC, Sr., G), Luke Jackson (ORE, So., F), Marcus Moore (WSU, So., G), Joe Shipp (CAL, Jr., F).


FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Salim Stoudamire, Arizona

COACH OF THE YEAR: Ernie Kent, Oregon


1999-2000 Eddie House, Player of the Year

1990-91 Jamal Faulkner, Freshman of the Year

1979-80 Byron Scott, Freshman of the Year, Ned Wulk, Coach of the Year

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder