No. 1 Men's Swimming and Diving Win 21st Consecutive Pac-10 Championship

March 9, 2002

Long Beach, Calif. - The No. 1-ranked Stanford men's swimming and diving team won its 21st consecutive Pac-10 Championship this evening at the Belmont Plaza Pool in Long Beach, Calif. Stanford scored 918 points to run away with the title. California was second with 708.5 and Arizona was third at 616.5. Rounding out the field was USC (571), Arizona State (400) and Washington (175).

The Stanford swimming and diving team has become the most dominant program in the Pac-10 Conference history winning 21 consecutive conference titles - the most by any sport in the league.

The Cardinal won three of the six final events to secure the win including three individual titles.

In the first event on the night, sophomore Matt Sorlien finished third in the 1650 free with a time of 15:10.78. USC's Erik Vendt won the event in a time of 14:44.22 for the Trojans.

Stanford cruised in the 200 back, finishing 1-2-3 in this event. Markus Rogan defended his 2001 title and took home his second Pac-10 title this year with a time of 1:40.79. Rogan's time is the third fastest in school history. Sophomore Peter Marshall was second (1:42.78) and junior Randall Bal was third (1:42.81). All three times were NCAA automatic qualifying times.

Cal's Duje Draganja won the 100 free in a time of 42.82. Stanford's Jeff Guyman placed fifth with a time of 43.72 to lead the Cardinal. Andrew Schnell took seventh (43.84) and Bobby O'Bryan finished eighth (44.14).

The next event was the 200 breast. Last year, Michael Bruce finished second in this event, but this year he took home top honors for the second times in these championships. His time of 1:56.73 is an NCAA automatic qualifier. Freshman Thomas Brown placed fifth with a time of 1:59.84 while teammate Peter Lennox-King was sixth (1:59.86). Both times are NCAA provisional qualifying times.

Stanford junior Dan Westcott won the title in the 200 fly with a time of 1:44.21 (provisional NCAA). Freshman Jayme Cramer took third in 1:45.25 (provisional NCAA).

The final event of the night was the 400 free relay. California edged Stanford for the title in the time of 2:51.08. The Cardinal relay team of Randall Bal, Jeff Guyman, Peter Marshall and Andrew Schnell finished second in 2:51.85.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder