Bruins Second after Two Rounds in Pioneer Bruin Classic

March 12, 2002

The UCLA women's golf team is second after 36 holes in the Pioneer Bruin Classic, hosted by UCLA at Menifee Lakes Country Club.

As the final round begins Tuesday morning, the Bruins, who have a two-day total of 596, trail first place Pepperdine by four shots. Oklahoma is third at 598, followed by New Mexico at 606 and California at 607.

Individually for the UCLA Gold Team, freshman Charlotte Mayorkas is tied for seventh at four-over par 148. Junior Vivan Phosomran is tied for 11th at 149 and freshman Yvonne Choe is tied for 15th at 150. Sophomore Melissa Martin is tied for 27th at 152 after posting a second round score of even par 72, and teammate Johanna Andersson is tied for 37th at 154.

For the UCLA Blue Team, which unofficially is in fourth place, senior Alicia Um is in third place at one-over par 145. Sophomore Gina Umeck is tied for fourth at 146. Freshman Kristin Thompson is tied for 27th at 152 after posting a two-over par second round score of 74. Sophomore Krystal Shearer is tied for 37th at 154.

Defending Bruin Classic champion Katherine Hull of Pepperdine is tied for first place at one-under par 143 with teammate Lindsey Wright, who won the individual title in 2000. Hull posted a three-under par score of 69 in Monday's afternoon round. Um of UCLA is third at 145, followed by Oklahoma's Lisa Meldrum and Allison Johnson and Umeck of UCLA at 146, two-over par. Johnson posted the low round of the day, a four-under par 68.

Following are complete team scores and the individual top 20.

Team Scores: 1. Pepperdine, 592, 2. UCLA, 596, 3. Oklahoma, 598, 4. New Mexico, 606, 5. California, 607, 6. San Francisco, 608, 7. San Diego State, 609, 8. UNLV and Oregon 617, 10. BYU, 620, 11. UC Irvine, 622, 12. CS Northridge, 628, 13. Colorado, 630, 14. Long Beach State, 636, 15. Washington State, 651, 16. Portland State, 661.

Individual Scores:> 1. Katherine Hull and Lindsey Wright (Pepp), 143, 3. Alicia Um (UCLA), 145, 4. Lisa Meldrum and Aliison Johnson (Okla) and Gina Umeck (UCLA), 7. Katrina Leckovic (UNM), Sandy Kim (SDSU), Charlotte Mayorkas (UCLA), Walailik Satarak (UCI)m 148, 11. Natalie Newren (BYU), Susannah Laing (USF), Vivan Phosomran (UCLA), Kristi Larsen (UNM), 149, Yvonne Choe (UCLA), Heather Rollo (SDSU), Anna Temple (Cal), 150, 18. Jean Shimozaki (USF), Anne Walker (Cal), Kathy Cho (Ore), Marie L. Juul (LBSU), Asa Jankler (SDSU), Jess Carlyon (Ore), Vikki Laing (Cal), Hope Edge (Okla), Laura Viveras (USF), 151.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder