Arizona Track & Field Completes Day One of Willie Williams Classic

March 15, 2002

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona's men's and women's track and field teams completed day one of the Willie Williams Classic late Friday night. In a meet filled with junior colleges and several other small NCAA schools, the Wildcats looked to be in pretty good form. Arizona did rest several athletes to prepare for next week's home meet where the competition will be tougher.

In women's sprinting action, Alexandra Komnos ran a time of 26.33 in the 200m. Chelsea Powell and Lindsay Scarborough swept the top two spots in the 400m hurdles. Powell finished first with a time of 1:02.43. Scarborough followed in second and a time of 1:04.75. Also in the 400m hurdles, Gina Mazzone finished ninth in 1:08.41.

In the longer distances, Cara Cline led the way for the Wildcats in the 800m. She finished third with a time of 2:13.61. Danielle Price and Beth Hoge finished not too far behind in fifth and sixth respectively. Price clocked a time of 2:17.84, while Hoge finished in 2:18.79. Freshman Robin Tierney ran a 2:26.83 to finish 13th in the 800 and was followed by 16th-place Jenna Rasch who had a time of 2:33.85. Kim Bates took the 5,000m title with a final time of 17:36.75. Andrea Schwartz placed third in the 3,000m steeplechase with a time of 12:09.75.

Phyllis Brown took charge for the Wildcats in the field events with a victory in the pole vault after a leap of 11-6 � (3.50m). Whitney Schauer vaulted 11-0 � (3.35m) to finish third. Sarah Joslin finished tied for fourth after a vault of 10-6 � (3.20m). Amanda Underwood finished in 11th place in the shot put after a toss of 36-5 (11.04m). In the women's javelin competition, Julie DeMarni finished third with a final mark of 133-5 � (40.44m).

In the men's sprinting events, Chris Harris finished fourth in the 200m with a time of 21.73. Matt Lea finished in eighth in 22.05, and Adrain Thomas was 10th with a time of 22.21. Jeff Hunter came away with a victory in the 400m hurdles with a Pac-10 qualifying time of 52.75.

Aaron Powell led the Arizona men in the 800m with a fourth-place finish and a time of 1:54.57. Mike Howard was the top finisher in the 5,000m for the Wildcats in fifth place. He had a time of 15:05.39. Matt McInvale and Eric Bohn finished eighth and ninth respectively with times of 15:18.07 and 15:20.99. Mark Anderson finished second in the 3,000m steeplechase with a final time of 9:23.28. He was followed by teammates Steve Smith (3rd, 9:32.99) and Josh Ludwig (4th, 10:00.84).

On the field for the Wildcat men, J.R. Harrison took the triple jump title with a leap of 49-8 � (15.07m). Sean Shields and Richard Legarra provisionally qualified in the shot put with their second and third place finishes respectively. Shields had a final toss of 59-3 (17.96m), while Legarra finished with a mark of 59-1 (17.91m). Matt Wagner came up huge with a victory in the javelin throw. He provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships with a throw of 222-10 � (67.54m).

The Wildcats will continue competition Saturday afternoon at 12:30 p.m. at Drachman Stadium on the corner of 15th Street and Plumer Avenue.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network