NCAA Wrestling Results - Session I

March 21, 2002

ALBANY, New York - Armed with the most competitors since 1981, the University of Oregon wrestling team began its run at the NCAA Tournament in Albany, New York, Thursday morning. Eight Oregon wrestlers are chasing individual titles or All-America status in the 2002 national tournament, with two wrestlers - Eugene Harris (7th, 165) and Shaun Williams (8th, 125) seeded heading into the competition.

At the end of the first session, three Ducks are still in contention for a national title and five are now competing in the wrestle-back bracket with an opportunity to finish as high as third. All three of Oregon's Pac-10 Champions have advanced in the championship bracket and will continue to wrestle in the championship bracket in Session II Thursday evening.

Tony Overstake (157) picked up Oregon's most dominating win of the morning for Oregon, defeating Frank De Fillippis (E. Illinois) by technical fall, 17-1 (4:59). Overstake earned 2.5 team points with the win and will now face the No. 1 seed, Bryan Snyder of Nebraska Thursday evening. Snyder is 30-0 this season and is looking to become the first wrestler in Nebraska history to finish a season undefeated. Snyder defeated Warren Stout (Lehigh) by technical fall (4:54) in his opening round match.

At 125, senior Shaun Williams dominated his match with Marlon Felton (N. Illinois), winning 11-4 to advance in the championship bracket. Williams will face ninth-seeded Jason Powell of Nebraska, who he did not wrestle in Oregon's dual with the Cornhuskers Jan. 3 because of injury. Powell won by fall at 4:18 over Jesse Leng of Ohio State in his opening dual.

Senior Eugene Harris also won in the opening round, defeating Bill Boeh of Duquesne, 8-4. Harris has now won 18 consecutive matches and last lost to Tyrone Lewis of Oklahoma State, who is seeded third in the NCAA Tournament. Harris faces 10th-seeded Matt King of Edinboro, who won 5-0 over Mike Mitchell of Duke to advance in the championship bracket. Harris defeated King earlier this season, a 3-2 decision at the Las Vegas Invitational Nov. 30.

Freshman Shane Webster lost a close match in the pigtail round of the 174 pound bracket to move to the wrestle-back consolation bracket. Webster had fallen behind 3-0 in the first period to Ralph Everett of Hofstra and managed to narrow the gap with two escapes, but Everett controlled the remainder of the match to hold on. Webster will now face Tony Gansen of Central Michigan. Gansen won his pigtail match before being pinned at 2:45 by Iowa State's Nick Passolano.

At 133, sophomore Jason Harless, who earned a wild card invitation to the tournament after finishing fifth at the Pac-10 tournament, lost 8-4 to Chris Spealler (Lock Haven) in the opening round. Harless fell behind 5-4 in the second period and then scored on an escape to come within a point, 5-4. But, Spealler scored the only points in the third period, a takedown with 1:03 remaining and added a point with 2:12 of riding time.

Junior Brian Watson, who finished second at the Pac-10 Championships for the third season, faced third-seeded Sean Gray of Virginia Tech and was unable to notch the upset. Watson did hold Gray scoreless in the first period, but Gray went ahead 3-0 in the second period and extended his lead to 5-0 with a takedown in the final period.

Eric Webb suffered a 3-2 loss to fifth-seeded John Lockhart (Illinois) and will now face Steven Kovach (Navy), who lost to 12th-seeded John Testa of Clarion in the opening round.

Session I Results125 Championship Bracket(8)Shaun Williams (UO) DEC Marlon Felton (N. Illinois), 11-4

133 Championship BracketChris Spealler (Lock Haven) DEC Jason Harless (UO), 8-4

141 Championship Bracket(3)Sean Gray (Virginia Tech). DEC Brian Watson (UO), 5-0

149 Championship Bracket(8)Jake Percival (Ohio) FALL Casey Hunt (UO), 1:02

157 Championship Bracket Tony Overstake (UO) TECH FALL Frank DeFillippis (E. Illinois), 17-1, 4:59

165 Championship Bracket(7)Eugene Harris DEC Bill Boeh (Duquesne), 8-4

174 PigtailRalph Everett (Hofstra) DEC Shane Webster (UO), 3-3

Heavyweight Championship Bracket(5)John Lockhart (Illinois) DEC Eric Webb (UO), 3-2

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder