Philip Ricci Named Most Valuable Player of the Men's Basketball Team

March 25, 2002

Corvallis, Ore. - Junior forward/center Philip Ricci has been named the Most Valuable Player of the 2001-2002 Oregon State University men's basketball team, head coach Ritchie McKay announced Monday.

In his first season of NCAA basketball, Ricci led the team for scoring (16.2), rebounding (7.1), and blocked shots (41). He ranked among the Pac-10 Conference leaders in all three categories, and his blocked shots total is tied for fifth for a single season at OSU.

The 6-foot-7 Ricci also tallied four doubles-doubles for the year, the most by a Beaver since 1995. His MVP selection adds to his postseason honors, which includes being named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District Second Team and to the College Hoops Insider.Com Junior College Transfer Team. Ricci redshirted during the 2000-2001 season with a knee injury after transferring from San Joaquin Delta Junior College in California.

Junior forward Brian Jackson was selected as the team's Jim Anderson Award recipient, given annually to the most improved player. Jackson led the team for field goal percentage (.539), and connected on .808 from the free throw line. His numbers improved in nearly every major statistical category from his sophomore season.

Adam Masten, a senior guard, captured the Ed Lewis Award for the second consecutive season. The award is presented to the player who exemplifies the most leadership. The four-year letterman started 26 games as a senior and leaves the program as the school's sixth all-time leading three-point field goal shooter with 115 conversions. He also equaled the school's single season free throw percentage mark at .870 - an honor he shares with Terry Baker from the 1961 season.

The remaining accolades were presented to junior guard Mike Cokley as the Paul Valenti Award recipient for the individual who exhibits the greatest desire and determination, freshman guard J.S. Nash earned the Lew Beck Award for the team's outstanding newcomer, and freshman guard Floyd North III received the Slats Gill Award, presented to the individual who exemplifies what Slats demanded of himself and players.

2001-2002 Oregon State Men's Basketball AwardsRalph Miller Award (MVP) - Philip RicciJim Anderson Award (Most Improved) - Brian JacksonEd Lewis Award (Leadership) - Adam MastenPaul Valenti Award (Desire and Determination) - Mike CokleyLew Beck Award (Outstanding Newcomer) - J.S. NashSlats Gill Award (Commitment) - Floyd North III
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder