This Week In Pac-10 Women's Basketball

March 26, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


Making their third Women's NIT appearance and first since the 1989 season, the OREGON Ducks (21-13, 10-8) host Houston (26-7, 11-3 Conference-USA) in the WNIT championship game, Wednesday night at 7 p.m. Oregon won the WNIT in 1989, defeating San Diego State 67-64 in the tournament final. The Ducks reached the 2002 WNIT final with wins over St. Mary's, Pac-10 rivals Oregon State and Washington, and Michigan State. UO has rolled to a 6-1 postseason record, including Pac-10 Tournament play, with five of those wins coming at McArthur Court. Pac-10 teams have posted a 30-18 all-time record (.625) in the Women's NIT, winning four titles. Oregon State captured the 1980 and 1982 titles, Oregon won the 1989 title and Arizona claimed the 1996 championship. Pac-10 teams have captured two runner-up finishes, ASU in 1981 and California in 1987... The Pac-10 is 1-0 vs. Conference USA this season, as Stanford defeated Tulane in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, Mar. 18.

Wednesday, March 27

Houston at OREGON, 7 p.m.


Saturday, March 23
WEST REGIONAL(Boise State Pavilion, Boise, Idaho)
No. 3 Colorado 62, No. 2 STANFORD 59
Powell- 13 pts/8 reb/6 ast, Yamasaki-14 pts/5 reb


Saturday, March 23
SEMIFINALS (McArthur Court, Eugene, Ore.)
OREGON 65, Michigan State 54
Wlms.- 21 pts/5-10 3FG, Kraayeveld- 16 pts/11 reb

Wednesday, March 20
QUARTERFINALS (Bank of America Arena, Seattle)
ORE: Kraayeveld-26 pts/12 reb, Craighead-17 pts/7 ast, WASH: Lalum- 21 pts/9 reb


*Pac-10 teams have posted a 30-18 record (.625) in the Women's NIT.
*Pac-10 teams have won four WNIT titles (Oregon State in '80 and '82, Oregon in '89, Arizona in '96) and captured two runner-up finishes (ASU in '81, California in '87).

OREGON (21-13, 10-8)
Under the tutelage of first-year head coach Bev Smith, the Ducks (21-13, 10-8) are in the midst of their ninth straight postseason appearance and host Houston (26-7, 11-3) Wednesday night in the championship game of the Women's NIT... Oregon has won four in a row and six of its last seven games... with their win over Washington on Mar. 20, the Ducks logged their 13th 20-win season in school history and fourth in the last six years... Smith is just the third coach in Pac-10 women's basketball history to win at least 20 games in their first season... In 1993-94, USC's Cheryl Miller and Oregon's Jody Runge guided their teams to 20 victories... the lone Pac-10 team, men's or women's, still competing, Oregon was one of three Division I schools in the nation whose men's and women's basketball programs were still alive on Sunday, Mar. 24 (along with Oklahoma and Connecticut)... the Ducks will play in their school-record 35th game Wednesday night, and have gone 6-1 in postseason games, including Pac-10 Tournament and WNIT play... the program boasts an all-time record of 501-279 (.642)... the WNIT appearance is the Ducks' third overall and their first since 1989, when they won it all... Oregon finished 10-8 in Pac-10 regular-season play and tied for sixth place with Arizona... the Ducks hosted the inaugural Pac-10 Tournament Mar. 1-4 and drew the #7 seed... Oregon reached the tournament semifinals, falling to eventual champion Arizona State... Junior guard Shaquala Williams (16.7 ppg) was named to the Pac-10 All-Tournament Team and received All-Pac-10 First Team recognition for the third time... Her backcourt mate, senior Edniehsa Curry (3.26 apg) was named All-Pac-10 honorable mention, while center Andrea Bills (.514 FG%) was named All-Freshman honorable mention... Williams owns the current Pac-10 single-season record for free throw percentage (.908), connecting on 108 of 119 attempts... Williams is fourth in the Pac-10 in scoring and has 1,433 points in her three-year career, sixth on the Oregon all-time chart... with 569 points on the season, Williams needs just 11 points to pass Smith's 579 points in 1979-80 as the fifth-best season total in UO history... sophomore forward Cathrine Kraayeveld (10.0 ppg) has notched four consecutive double-doubles and has 10 on the season -- the most for a Duck since Arianne Boyer posted 11 in 1996-97... Kraayeveld ranks fourth in the Pac-10 in rebounding (8.1 rpg)... the Ducks are averaging 4,493 fans at Mac Court, the fourth straight season they have paced the Pac-10 in home attendance... that total ranks 18th nationally.

Pac-10 teams posted a 4-0 record in first round WNIT games, before squaring off against each other on Sunday, Mar. 17... USC, OREGON STATE, OREGON and WASHINGTON all posted double-digit victories in their first-round NIT games Mar. 13 and 14, winning by an average of 16 points.

Friday, March 29 & Sunday, March 31
Alamodome * San Antonio, Texas

National Semifinals - Friday, March 29
Game one, 6 p.m. CT (ESPN)
Game two, approx. 8:30 p.m. CT (ESPN)

National Championship - Sunday, March 31
Game time 7:30 p.m. CT, (ESPN)

McArthur Court * Eugene, Ore.

Mon., Mar. 4 - Final
#3 Arizona State 70, #1 Stanford 63

Sun., Mar. 3 - Semifinals
#3 Arizona State 64, #7 Oregon 58
#1 Stanford 71, #5 Oregon State 55

Sat., Mar. 2 - Quarterfinals
#7 Oregon 78, #2 Washington 64
#3 Arizona State 66, #6 Arizona 58
#1 Stanford 96, #8 UCLA 61
#5 Oregon State 69, #4 USC 68

Fri., Mar. 1
#7 Oregon 85, #10 Washington State 67
#8 UCLA 46, #9 California 42

Tournament Attendance = 27,415 (5 sessions), 5,483 per session.

Most Outstanding Player: Nicole Powell, SO G, Stanford
Enjoli Izidor, SR G, Stanford
Melody Johnson, SR C, Arizona State
Amanda Levens, SR G, Arizona State
Felicia Ragland, SR G, Oregon State
Shaquala Williams, SR G, Oregon

The ARIZONA STATE Sun Devils won the inaugural Pac-10 Tournament trophy, and with it the league's automatic NCAA Tournament berth. ASU downed Stanford 70-63 in the tourney final. The win over then-No. 2 Stanford was the highest ranked team that the Sun Devils defeated since downing No. 2 USC, 53-51, in Tempe on Feb. 15, 1982. Senior guard Amanda Levens scored 22 points in the Pac-10 Championship Game, with her 22nd point marking the 1,000th point of her ASU career.

Compaq Center at San Jose will be the site of the 2003 Pac-10 Women's Basketball Tournament, Mar. 7-10. The 10-team postseason tournament, which just completed its inaugural run at the University of Oregon's McArthur Court, will move to a neutral site beginning next year. San Jose Mayor Ron Gonzales will serve as honorary chair of the Local Organizing Committee for the tournament, while former San Jose Mayor Susan Hammer will chair the LOC. Fill out your 2003 ticket application today by logging on to (click on 'Women's Basketball').

With its 81-65 victory over Washington on Feb. 14, the Stanford Cardinal clinched the 2001-02 Pac-10 regular season title. The title is Stanford's 11th in 16 seasons. Stanford is the only Pac-10 team, men's or women's, to make it through Conference play with an unblemished 18-0 record. The 2001-02 Cardinal finished 18-0 for the fourth time in school history. Since the league began sponsoring women's basketball in 1986-87, and since the current men's alignment in 1978-79, the Cardinal women have accomplished the feat four times times: 1989, 1996, 1997 and 2002.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder