Bethany Donaphin Named First Team Pac-10 All-Academic

March 28, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Stanford University senior center Bethany Donaphin (New York, NY/Horace Mann HS) was named to the Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic First Team, it was announced on Wednesday.

Donaphin, who was named to the Verizon District VIII All-Academic Third Team on February 26, is a Public Policy Major with a 3.38 cumulative grade point average. Donaphin was named Honorable Mention Pac-10 All-Academic each of the past two seasons.

The senior appeared in all 35 games for the 32-3 Cardinal, including 24 starts, and averaged 8.7 points, 4.9 rebounds and 1.5 blocked shots. She also led the Pacific-10 Conference in field goal percentage at 59.1 (137-of-232).Stanford senior forward Lauren St. Clair (Philadelphia, PA/Mt. St. Joseph Academy) was named to the Pac-10 All-Academic Second Team. St. Clair, who is a Science, Technology & Society Major with a 3.38 cumulative GPA, averaged 4.6 points and 1.8 rebounds for the Pac-10 Champion Cardinal.

Here is a complete look at the Pac-10 All-Academic selections:

First Team - Jen Albert (Arizona State, So., 3.85 GPA, Elementary Education Major), Jessica Collins (Washington State, Grad., 3.68, Business), Leah Combs (Arizona State, Sr., 3.96, Broadcast Communications), Bethany Donaphin (Stanford, Sr., 3.38, Public Policy), Loree Payne (Washington, Jr., 3.68, Psychology).

Second Team - Betsy Boardman (Arizona State, So., 3.44, Communications), Lindsey Egeland (Washington State, So., 3.82, Undeclared), Carmen Krause (USC, Sr., 3.46, Health Promotions & Disease Prevention), Andrea Lalum (Washington, So., 3.44, Pre-Major), Lauren St. Clair (Stanford, Sr., 3.38, Science, Technology & Society).

Honorable Mention - Emily Autrey (Washington, Jr.), Brina Chaney (Oregon State, So.), Hollye Chapman (Oregon State, So.), Luana Coloma (California, So.), Ericka Cook (Oregon State, Sr.), Jamie Craighead (Oregon, Sr.), Janet Franey (California, Sr.), Cathrine Kraayveld (Oregon, So.), Giuliana Mendiola (Washington, So.), Kellie O'Neill (Jr. Washington), Jessica Ottmar (Washington State, Jr.), Kourtney Shreve (Oregon, Jr.), Ndidi Unaka (Oregon, Sr.), Michelle Wald (California, Jr.), Krista Warren (Arizona, Jr.), Kiki Williams (California, RFr.), Shaquala Williams (Oregon, Jr.).

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network