Four Trojans Earn Pac-10 Swimming All-Academic First Team Honors

March 29, 2002

Sophomore Nicci Fusaro, senior Jay Sayko and juniors Nick Degenstein and Erik Tolmachoff all earned Pacific-10 All-Academic first team honors while another eight Trojans earned second team and honorable mention honors as the Pac-10 announced its Swimming and Diving All-Academic teams on Friday (March 29).

Fusaro, a three-time All-American diver at the recently completed NCAA Championships, had a 3.71 GPA in fine arts. Sayko earned his honor with a 3.46 in business, Degenstein had a 3.82 in engineering while Tolmachoff had a 3.51 in engineering. For Degenstein and Sayko, it is the second consecutive year they have been Pac-10 All-Academic first team selections. Sayko was also second team as a sophomore.

Trojans who earned second team honors this year included senior Ahmad Al-Kudmani (3.09, engineering), senior Joel Everman (3.29, business), sophomore Linden Bierman-Lytle (3.76, cinema/TV) and sophomore Katie Tyrrell (3.82, communications).

Five women's swimmers and divers earned honorable mention designation. They were: sophomores Katie Case, Melissa Deary, Alissa Ellis and Erin O'Kane and junior Asa Sandlund.

Freshmen are not eligible for consideration.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder