Arizona Men's Swimming and Diving Jump One Spot to Place Seventh at the NCAA Championships

March 30, 2002

ATHENS, Ga. -- The University of Arizona men's swimming and diving team finished out the 2002 season in seventh place at the 2002 NCAA Championships, scoring 242 total points. The 2002 NCAA Champions are the Texas Longhorns with 512 points. Stanford placed second (501) followed by Auburn (365.5), Florida (277) and Southern California (272). The meet was hosted by the University of Georgia and was held at the Gabrielsen Natatorium.

The championship finals of the 100y free showed six out of the eight swimmers representing the Pac-10 Conference. Arizona had two swimmers in the race, senior All-American and 50y free champion, Roland Schoeman and sophomore All-American Eric la Fleur. Schoeman finished third with the time of 42.80, while la Fleur placed fifth with his personal best time of 43.51.

In the championship finals of the 400y free relay the Cats finished fifth at 2:53.09. Competing in the relay were la Fleur, Schoeman, All-American sophomore Byron Jeffers and All-American freshman Max Leassner.

Wildcat junior All-American Jeff Dash placed seventh in the championship finals of the 200y fly with his personal best time of 1:44.42. Sophomore All-American Juan Veloz won the consolation finals of the 200y fly setting a new Arizona school record with the time of 1:43.93.

In the 200y backstroke senior All-American Kristopher Souther swam his personal best time and set a new Arizona school record when he touched the wall at 1:42.70. Souther held the old school record of 1:43.49 set in 2000.

All three of the Wildcat divers scored points on the 10-meter platform. Senior Ruben Vaca earned his second career honorable mention All-American honor when he placed 11th of the platform, scoring 486 points. Fellow senior Omar Ojeda earned honorable mention All-American honors, to go along with his four career first team All-American honors, when he placed 14th on the 10-meter with 456.10 points. In his first NCAA Championship appearance sophomore Josh Anderson earned two honorable mention All-American nods, one on the one-meter and one on the 10-meter. Anderson placed 15th on the 10-meter with 454.80 points.

California's Anthony Ervin won the 100y free in the record time of 41.62. Ervin had previously held the NCAA, American and U.S. Open Record of 41.80 with Cal's Matt Biondi.

In the championship finals of the 200y breaststroke Texas sophomore Brendan Hansen broke his own NCAA, American and U.S. Open record of 1:53.11, touching the wall at 1:52.88.


Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder