Senior Rowers Claim Bragging Rights at Class Day Races

March 30, 2002

Seattle - The Washington rowing team celebrated the opening of its 2002 racing season with the 101st Class Day Regatta, held on the Montlake Cut Saturday morning. Both the men's and women's senior class crews won the annual race between the freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors.

The men's senior class, which featured seven of eight rowers who competed together as freshmen four years ago, won the George M. Varnell trophy, covering the 2,000-meter course in a time of 5 minutes, 42 seconds. The sophomore class came in second, at 5:46, with a crew comprised of all but one rower from the squad that won a national championship last year. The junior class followed at 5:48 and the freshmen were fourth at 5:49.

The women's senior class claimed The Seattle Times trophy in a time of 6:29.5, marking the second year in a row the graduating class has won the race. The junior class was second at 6:37.3 followed by the sophomores at 6:39.8 and the freshmen at 6:54.3.

Highlighting the day was the dedication of a new racing shell, the Richard D. Erickson, in memory of Washington's legendary rowing coach who passed away last July. The shell, made by Vespoli, was christened by Erickson's wife, Irma, and his son, Al, with finish line water from the Montlake Cut. The boat will be used by the men's varsity eight.

Class Day also features the presentation of several awards and the announcement of team captains for the 2002 season. The Schaller Scholarship Award, presented to the men's and women's rower with the highest grade point average, went to three people this year. Sophomore Marko Petrovic (Belgrade, Serbia) won the men's award, producing a 3.68 gpa as he applies to the UW business school. On the women's side, junior coxswain Anne Hessburg (Wenatchee) and classmate Jessica Harm (Seattle) were both honored for their 3.71 averages. Hessburg, who earned the award for the second year in a row, is a speech communications major and Harm is studying biology and zoology.

Most Inspirational awards were presented to sophomore Bernie Herberholt (Seattle) and senior Anna Mickelson (Bellevue). The Katie Horst Memorial Award, presented to the most inspirational novice woman, was given to Alaina Garrie (Bellevue).

The Huskies officially open the 2002 season next weekend at the San Diego Crew Classic, April 6-7. The Washington women's team enters the year as defending NCAA team champions, having won gold medals in the varsity eight and varsity four and a silver medal in the junior varsity eight in 2001. The Husky men's team is also coming off a stellar season, with the freshman eight and pair winning gold, the junior varsity eight silver and the varsity eight capturing a bronze at the national championships last June.

Washington Class Day Results
Montlake Cut (2,000-meters), Seattle, Wash.
Overcast, cool, slight breeze

The Seattle Times Women's Eight
1, Seniors 6:29.5 (cox: Mary Whipple , stroke - Jenni Vesnaver , 7 - Kara Nykreim 6 - Annabel Ritchie, 5 - Anna Mickelson, 4 - April Miller, 3 - Brook Stokke , 2 - Shannon Oates, bow - Erin Becht).
2, Juniors 6:37.3
3, Sophomores 6:39.8
4, Freshmen 6:54.3

The George M. Varnell Men's Eight
1, Seniors 5:42 (cox: Melissa Wengard , stroke - Matt Deakin , 7 - Matt Farrer , 6 - Peter Dembicki , 5 - Patrick Stewart , 4 - Chris Hawkins 3 - Andy Altman , 2 - Jonathan Burns , bow - Brendan Patterson).
2, Sophomores 5:46
3, Juniors 5:48
4, Freshmen 5:49

Women's Varsity-Novice Challenge
1, Novice eight -A 7:09.2 (cox: Dana Ryan, stroke - Katie Anderson, 7 - Alaina Garrie, 6 - Katie Weden, 5 - Sarah Dubrasich, 4 - Megan Flynn, 3 - Janelle Dubbins, 2- Katie Hodapp, bow - Katie Gardner).
2, Novice eight -B 7:21.0
3, Varsity four 7:42.8

Men's Varsity-Novice Challenge
1, Varsity eight 6:05 (cox:: Gus Mesmer, stroke - Brendan Carroll , 7 - Mike Fasel 6 - John Taylor , 5 - Jeff Bartunek , 4 - Bernie Herberholt , 3 - John Moore, 2 - Jacob McCann, bow - Matt Semritc).
2, Freshman eight 6:08
3, Varsity-freshman mix 6:26

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder