Mackenzie Named Ben Hogan Award Semifinalist

April 1, 2002

NORMAN, Okla. - Washington sophomore golfer Brock Mackenzie is one of 20 semifinalists for the Ben Hogan Award by the Friends of Golf and Colonial Country Club, in association with the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Ben Hogan Award will be presented to the outstanding male collegeGolfer over the course of the last 12 months at a black-tie dinner Monday, May 13 at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas. The Hogan Award takes into consideration a player's collegiate and amateur record from May 1, 2001 to May 1, 2002.

A list of 10 finalists will be announced on April 16, while the recipient of the award will be announced on Friday, May 3.

The inaugural Ben Hogan Award was presented in 1990 by the Friends of Golf (FOG), to a player exhibiting excellence in academics as well as college golf as selected by the GCAA.

In the summer of 2001, FOG and the GCAA were approached by representatives of Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas wanting to create an award named for Hogan and make the presentation during the week of the MasterCard Colonial PGA Tour event.

While the three parties collaborated on the award, the decision was madeTo revise the criteria to more accurately reflect the original idea for the Ben Hogan Award. Although the criteria for selection has changed, the 12 past winners will remain as part of the Hogan Award's history.

Additionally, FOG will continue to present the honoree with a replica ofThe Waterford crystal trophy displayed permanently at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles, while Colonial Country Club will present the honoree and his school with a replica of the permanent trophy displayed in the Hogan Room at Colonial.

Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists (listed in alphabetical order)Clint Colbert        Sr.     Savannah College of Art & DesignBrendon de Jonge     Jr.     Virginia TechBill Haas            Soph.   Wake ForestKevin Haefner        Sr.     AuburnJason Hartwick       Soph.   TexasRyan Hybl            Soph.   GeorgiaBrock Mackenzie      Soph.   WashingtonHunter Mahan         Soph.   Oklahoma StateTroy Matteson        Jr.     Georgia TechGraeme McDowell      Jr.     Alabama-BirminghamKris Mikkelsen       Sr.     Georgia TechChris Nallen         Soph.   ArizonaRob Oppenheim        Sr.     Rollins CollegeChez Reavie          Soph.   Arizona StateSteve Sokol          Sr.     Florida SouthernKevin Stadler        Sr.     Southern CaliforniaD.J. Trahan          Jr.     ClemsonCamilo Villegas      So.     FloridaNick Watney          Jr.     Fresno StateLee Williamson       Sr.     Purdue

Ben Hogan Award Recipients (under previous criteria)1990 Kevin Wentworth Oklahoma State1991 Brian Bridges Kent State1992 Jon Lindquist Gustavus Adolphus College1993 Marten Olander Alabama1994 William Blackman Auburn1995 Trip Kuehne Oklahoma State1996 Mark Wilson North Carolina1997 Jeff Fahrenbruch Texas1998 Jamie Broce Ball State1999 Steve Friesen Nebraska2000 Chris James Oklahoma2001 Wil Collins New Mexico

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder